Loading Events

Mid-Atlantic Symphony Orchestra: In Their Twenties

The Mid-Atlantic Symphony Orchestra, conducted by French maestro Julien Bénichou, is pleased to present their next concert: “In Their Twenties.”

Concert program
Dan Visconti, Black Bend
Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart, Horn Concerto No.3
George Bizet, Symphony No.1

The first half of the concert features Phil Munds on the French Horn performing Mozart’s Horn Concerto No. 3, in conjunction with a composition titled Black Bend (2005) by composer Dan Visconti, which was originally commissioned by the Cleveland Museum of Art and first presented in a version for string quartet. Black Bend takes its inspiration from an old ghost story about a train derailment and a supposedly haunted stretch of Ohio’s Cuyahoga River. It features special techniques in order for the unamplified string instruments to produce a raw, distorted tone more typical of electric guitars. “In Their Twenties,” will also feature George Bizet’s Symphony No. 1 in the second half of the concert. Bizet, Mozart, and Visconti composed the featured pieces when they were in their twenties.