fbpx
Subscribe
Banner website_back to school

This Week on TV5 Monde USA (April 13-19)

This is your new reality: You are confined at home for the foreseeable future. Take advantage of this time to watch TV5 Monde USA, the first French-language television channel in the United States. Every week, France-Amérique will compile a list of 5 films, series, documentaries, cooking shows, and children’s shows you don’t want to miss!


1. Refuges de Montagne: Entre Défi et Euphorie
Tuesday, April 14, at 2:55 pm EST (11:55 am PST)

Documentary directed by Sabine Grossrieder, Michèle Ehrensperger, Nicolas Schönenberger, Urs Sloksnath et Danielle Giulianixx (Switzerland, 2017). Franziska Gwerder is the guardian of the mountain refuge of Glattalp, in Muotathal. Anna-Barbara Kayser and Paul Buchmann look after the Spitzmeilen refuge, at the heart of the Flumserberg. As for Ueli Nyffenegger, he makes the most of his retirement at Capanna Basodino, in the Tessin region. Interviews with all of them in the Swiss Alps.

Refuges-montagne-RTS-Refuge-de-la-Glattalp-alpes-suisse


2. Goûtez-Voir: L’Abbaye de Talloires
Wednesday, April 15, at 11:30 am EST (8:30 am PST)

Culinary show hosted by Odile Mattei (France, 2018). In the Haute-Savoie département, the Abbaye de Talloires hotel is nestled in what is perhaps the most beautiful alpine lake scenery. This is where Paul Cézanne painted his famous Blue Lake in 1896. The restaurant’s chef, Christophe Le Digol, extends the poetry of the landscape’s beauty onto the plate and serves fresh produce selected for their authenticity.

goutez-voir

© Sergey Shibut/Dreamstime


3. Maya the Bee – Roll on the Holidays: Season 2, Episode 1
Thursday, April 16, at 4:30 pm EST (1:30 pm PST)

Children’s show created by Daniel Duda (France, 2017). Maya is not an ordinary little bee. Thirsty for adventure, she left the hive to live in the meadow in total freedom. Courageous but above all curious about everything, she sets out to explore nature and discover all its secrets, accompanied by her inseparable friends, Willy the bumblebee and Flip the grasshopper.

maya-abeille-bee-studio-100-animation


4. Puzzle
Friday, April 17, at 8:30 pm EST (5:30 pm PST)

Television film directed by Laurence Katrian with Sagamore Stévenin, Elsa Lunghini, and Naidra Ayadi (France, 2019). The tranquillity of the little town of Doulac is threatened by a series of poison-pen letters promising revelations about a murder that occurred several years earlier. Unease and suspicion quickly spread from home to home. But the anonymous letter-writer has also aroused the anger of the murderer…

puzzle-Laurence-Katrian-Sagamore-Stevenin-Jean-Philippe-Baltel-NOON-FTV


5. Histoires d’Arbres: Les Vénérables 
Saturday, April 18, at 6:30 pm EST (3:30 pm PST)

Documentary directed by Yannick Cherel (France, 2017). Guardians of a thousand year-old culture, the monkey puzzle tree of Chile and the baobab of Senegal are venerable and venerated. Refuge of genies or incarnation of a spirit, they represent a powerful connection with nature and ancestors. Sepulcher for one, saviour for the other, both are inhabited by mysticism.

histoires-arbres-camera-lucida-productions-arte


=> The full schedule of the programs broadcast on TV5 Monde USA is available on the channel’s website!

Related

  • This Week on TV5 Monde USA (June 15-21)This Week on TV5 Monde USA (June 15-21) Every week, France-Amérique will compile a list of 5 films, series, documentaries, cooking shows, and children's shows you don't want to miss on TV5 Monde USA, the first French-language […] Posted in Culture
  • This Week on TV5 Monde USA (June 8-14)This Week on TV5 Monde USA (June 8-14) This is your new reality: You are confined at home for the foreseeable future. Take advantage of this time to watch TV5 Monde USA, the first French-language television channel in the […] Posted in Culture