fbpx
Subscribe
Banner website_back to school

This Week on TV5 Monde USA (June 8-14)

This is your new reality: You are confined at home for the foreseeable future. Take advantage of this time to watch TV5 Monde USA, the first French-language television channel in the United States. Every week, France-Amérique will compile a list of 5 films, series, documentaries, cooking shows, and children’s shows you don’t want to miss!


1. Paper Flags
Monday, June 8, at 11:05 pm EST (8:05 pm PST)

At 23, Charlie leads a simple life, dreaming of becoming an artist. When her brother comes back after a long prison sentence, everything changes. Vincent is 30. How can he fit into a world he no longer recognizes? Charlie wants to help him but his violent reactions frighten her… | Film directed by Nathan Ambrosioni with Noémie Merlant, Guillaume Gouix, and Sébastien Houbanir (France, 2018). | Read our interview with the director.

Drapeaux-papier-Sensito-Films


2. Julietta
Tuesday, June 9, at 8:30 pm EST (5:30 pm PST)

Julietta, a young girl with romantic notions, cannot accept a marriage of convenience to Prince d’Alban. Taking flight, she encounters a handsome young man, Master Landrecourt. Charmed by her, the false ingenue moves in and worms her way into his life… to the great displeasure of Rosie, his fiancée. | Film directed by Marc Allegret with Jean Marais, Dany Robin, and Jeanne Moreau (France, 1953).

julietta-Les-Films-du-Jeudi


3. Gauche, Année Zéro?
Wednesday, June 9, at 3:00 pm EST (12:00 pm PST)

Embedded at Matignon from April to July 2017 with the office of French Prime Minister Bernard Cazeneuve, Serge Moati and Nicolas Combalbert film the final weeks of François Hollande’s five-year term. The underlying question: Is the Socialist Party now too divided to survive? | Documentary directed by Serge Moati and Nicolas Combalbert (France, 2017).

Gauche-annee-zero-Les-enfants-du-Belvedere-Films-du-Texmex


4. Echappées Belles: Jours de Fête à Dunkerque
Saturday, June 13, at 8:30 am EST (5:30 am PST)

Far from the factories and the cold, Dunkerque is renowned for its famous carnival. The town is never as vibrant and alive as during the nearly three months that the festivities last. Each year, between January and March, nearly 50,000 carnival-goers come together to have fun and forget their everyday problems. | Documentary directed by Raphaël de Casabianca (France, 2018).

echappees-belles-dunkerque-jours-de-fete-m-Bracho-Lapeyre-Bo-Travail


5. OSS 117: Lost in Rio
Sunday, June 17, at 8:40 pm EST (5:40 pm PST)

Hubert Bonisseur de La Bath, aka OSS 117, the best French spy, is tasked with a very important mission: finding a former Nazi officer hiding in South America. His investigation begins in Brazil, in Rio de Janeiro. There, he teams up with a charming Israeli spy… | Film directed by Michel Hazanavicius with Jean Dujardin, Louise Monot, and Alex Lutz (France, 2007).

oss-117-rio-jean-dujardin-Vantoen-PJR_Mandarin-Cinema_Gaumont_M6 Films


=> The full schedule of the programs broadcast on TV5 Monde USA is available on the channel’s website!

Related

  • This Week on TV5 Monde USA (June 15-21)This Week on TV5 Monde USA (June 15-21) Every week, France-Amérique will compile a list of 5 films, series, documentaries, cooking shows, and children's shows you don't want to miss on TV5 Monde USA, the first French-language […] Posted in Culture
  • This Week on TV5 Monde USA (June 1-7)This Week on TV5 Monde USA (June 1-7) This is your new reality: You are confined at home for the foreseeable future. Take advantage of this time to watch TV5 Monde USA, the first French-language television channel in the […] Posted in Culture