fbpx
Subscribe

This Week on TV5 Monde USA (March 30-April 5)

This is your new reality: You are confined at home for the foreseeable future. Take advantage of this time to watch TV5 Monde USA, the first French-language television channel in the United States. Every week, France-Amérique will compile a list of 5 films, series, documentaries, cooking shows, and children’s shows you don’t want to miss!


1. La Recette de Guy Martin: Just-Cooked Sardines
Monday, March 30, at 11:55 am EST (8:55 am PST)

Culinary show by Guy Martin (France). Michelin-starred French chef Guy Martin showcases iconic products from the terroirs of France and presents the women and the men who create them. A meeting with dedicated and driven people without whom French gastronomy would not be the same.

Guy-Martin-Michel-Langot


2. Fortuna
Tuesday, March 31, at 8:55 pm EST (5:55 pm PST)

Drama by Germinal Roaux with Kidist Siyum Beza, Bruno Ganz, and Patrick d’Assumçao (Switzerland/Belgium, 2018). After having crossed the Mediterranean, Fortuna, a teenager from Ethiopia, is welcomed with other refugees to a Swiss monastery for the winter. She meets 28 year-old Kabir with whom she fall head-over-heels in love. There relationship develops away from prying eyes. But one day Kabir disappears…

Kidist-Siyum-Beza-Fortuna-Germinal-Rouaux


3. Les Maîtres de la Peinture Moderne: Joan Miró
Wednesday, April 1, at 6:15 pm EST (3:15 pm PST)

Documentary by Jacques Vichet (France, 2019). Kandinsky, Manet, Pissarro, Gauguin, Klee, Léger… These painters, who broke with the principles of figurative art, were the instigators of modern art movements that revolutionized art history and continue to fascinate us as subjects. Take a look back at the lives of these extraordinary creators.

Vassily-Kandinsky


4. Passe-Partout
Thursday, April 2, at 5:10 pm EST (2:10 pm PST)

Children’s show by Alain Jacques, Julien Hurteau, and Marie-Julie Parent (Canada, 2019). Four year-old twins Cannelle and Pruneau move into a new house with their parents. The children learn to deal with all the different situations that arise in everyday life, helped by their friends and three rather strange characters: Passe-Partout, Passe-Montagne and Passe-Carreau.

passe-partout-Sebastien-Raymond


5. Bizarre, Bizarre
Sunday, April 5, at 8:40 pm EST (5:40 pm PST)

Comedy by Marcel Carné with Louis Jouvet, Françoise Rosay, Michel Simon, and Jean-Pierre Aumont (France, 1937). When invited to his cousin Irwin Moyneux’s house, Archibald Soper, Bishop of Bedford, rigorously denounces the novels of successful author Félix Chapel. He doesn’t know that, in reality, behind the pseudonym hides… his host! Intrigued by the absence of Margaret, Irwin’s wife, he deduces that she has been assassinated.

Michel-Simon-drole-de-drame-bizarre-bizarre-marcel-carne


=> The full schedule of the programs broadcast on TV5 Monde USA is available on the channel’s website!

Related

  • This Week on TV5 Monde USA (April 27-May 3)This Week on TV5 Monde USA (April 27-May 3) This is your new reality: You are confined at home for the foreseeable future. Take advantage of this time to watch TV5 Monde USA, the first French-language television channel in the […] Posted in Culture
  • This Week on TV5 Monde USA (March 23-29)This Week on TV5 Monde USA (March 23-29) This is your new reality: You are confined at home for the foreseeable future. Take advantage of this time to watch TV5 Monde USA, the first French-language television channel in the […] Posted in Culture