fbpx
Subscribe
Banner website_back to school

This Week on TV5 Monde USA (May 18-24)

This is your new reality: You are confined at home for the foreseeable future. Take advantage of this time to watch TV5 Monde USA, the first French-language television channel in the United States. Every week, France-Amérique will compile a list of 5 films, series, documentaries, cooking shows, and children’s shows you don’t want to miss!


1. New Caledonia, Vanuatu, Melanesia’s Sacred Archipels
Wednesday, May 20, at 2:55 pm EST (11:55 am PST)

L’Austral, an expedition and cruise ship, heads for the archipelagos of New Caledonia and Vanuatu. With a team of naturalists and scientists as our guides, we discover these far-flung islands whose inhabitants are proud of their cultural roots. | Documentary directed by Alain Dayan and Christophe Boyer (France 2017).

nouvelle-caledonie-vanuatu-melanesie


2. Le Mari de Mon Mari
Friday, May 22, at 8:30 pm EST (5:30 pm PST)

Juliette separated from her ex a year ago but still dreams of winning him back. Her dreams are crushed when he announces that he’s fallen in love and wants to marry… a man. Despite being open-minded it’s still hard to accept. Particularly as she’s going to be the wedding planner. | TV film directed by Charles Némès with Julie Depardieu, Mathias Mlekuz, and Jérôme Robart (France 2016).

le-Mari-de-mon-mari-Gilles-Scarella-FTV


3. The Eagle and the Condor
Saturday, May 23, at 6:30 pm EST (3:30 pm PST)

The indigenous peoples of French Guiana have a prophesy in which the eagle and the condor come together to create a link between the nations. In Ornans, Burgundy, Canadian indigenous peoples, families and artists are present at this meeting. A journey towards others, and of inner reflection. | Documentary directed by Marc Landry (Canada 2019).

aigle-condore-grande-envolee-radio-canada-ornans-bourgogne-france


4. Oscar & Malika, Toujours en Retard: Season 1, Episode 1 & 2
Sunday, May 24, at 8:30 am EST (5:30 am PST)

Oscar and Malika, two fifth-graders, walk to school together. Each morning they face funny, surreal, or ridiculous situations and share unlikely adventures. | Children’s show directed by Jérémy Guiter (France, 2018).

oscar-malika


5. Haut Les Filles
Sunday, May 24, at 8:30 pm EST (5:30 pm PST)

What if French rock was born with Edith Piaf? From sweet 1960s pop to today’s gender-fluid anthems, from feminist rebels of the 1970s to fashion icons of the social media age, from Françoise Hardy to Christine & The Queens, via Vanessa Paradis, Catherine Ringer, Charlotte Gainsbourg, and many more, Oh Les Filles! tells the untold story of French female rock stars. This groundbreaking documentary combines interviews and iconic footage to radically reverse perspectives and give the patriarchy a kick! Welcome to France, the land where women rock! | Documentary directed by François Armanet (France, 2019).

Haut-les-filles-Françoise-Hardy-Sonia-Sieff


=> The full schedule of the programs broadcast on TV5 Monde USA is available on the channel’s website!

Related

  • This Week on TV5 Monde USA (June 15-21)This Week on TV5 Monde USA (June 15-21) Every week, France-Amérique will compile a list of 5 films, series, documentaries, cooking shows, and children's shows you don't want to miss on TV5 Monde USA, the first French-language […] Posted in Culture
  • This Week on TV5 Monde USA (June 8-14)This Week on TV5 Monde USA (June 8-14) This is your new reality: You are confined at home for the foreseeable future. Take advantage of this time to watch TV5 Monde USA, the first French-language television channel in the […] Posted in Culture