fbpx

This Week on TV5MONDE USA (December 21-27)

Every week, France-Amérique will compile a list of 5 films, series, documentaries, cooking shows, and children’s shows you don’t want to miss on TV5MONDE USA, the first French-language television channel in the United States.


1. Système K
Monday, December 21, at 11:30 pm EST (8:30 pm PST)

In the urban jungle of Kinshasa, in the Democratic Republic of the Congo, amid social and political chaos, an eclectic and bubbling street art scene is emerging. | Documentary directed by Renaud Barret with Freddy Tsimba, Béni Baras, and Géraldine Tobe (France, 2016).

syteme-system-k-kinshasa-Renaud-Barret-Les-Films-en-Vrac-La-Belle-Kinois

© Les Films en Vrac/La Belle Kinoise


2. Opération Père Noël
Wednesday, December 23, at 3 pm EST (12 pm PST)

The date is December 25. Christmas is magical for so many children, but every year thousands of others are left out. For 25 years, Opération Père Noël (Operation Santa Claus) forwards their letters to generous but anonymous donors, like a message in a bottle, to put a smile back on their faces. | Documentary directed by Geneviève Albert (Canada, 2019).

operation-pere-noel-quebec-canada-Genevieve-Albert-Toast-Studio

© Toast Studio


3. La Gitane
Thursday, December 24, at 8:30 pm EST (5:30 pm PST)

Hubert Durieux is a bank manager in a small town in the Oise département. He divides his time between his ex-wife, his mistress, his daughter who shares all her relationship problems with him, and his secretary who secretly loves him. One day, he finds an injured gypsy woman on the road. | Film directed by Philippe de Broca with Claude Brasseur, Valérie Kaprisky, and Stéphane Audran (France, 1985).

la-Gitane-philippe-de-broca-claude-brasseur-Valerie-Kaprisky-MK2

© MK2


4. Super Lola
Friday, December 25, at 8:30 pm EST (5:30 pm PST)

Lola is a visiting nurse. Her chronic shyness and her fear of heights make daily life difficult, but circumstances transform her into a masked heroine. She intrigues Laurent, a modest freelancer who dreams of being an investigative journalist, blissfully unaware that behind the mask is his wife Lola… | Television film directed by Régis Musset with Saïda Jawad, Laurent Bateau, and Chantal Ladesou (France, 2013).

super-lola-Saida-Jawad-François-Lefebvre-france-televisions

© François Lefebvre/France Télévisions


5. Les Eblouis
Sunday, December 27, at 8:40 pm EST (5:40 pm PST)

Camille, 12, is passionate about the circus. But everything changes when her parents join a charismatic religious community. Gradually, their indoctrination takes a strict turn. The young girl is forced into a new lifestyle that cuts her off from the outside world, and has to fight to win back her freedom. | Film directed by Sarah Suco with Camille Cottin, Jean-Pierre Darroussin, and Eric Caravaca (France, 2018).

les-Eblouis-Camille-Cottin-Mon-voisin-productions-Epithete-films

© Mon voisin productions/Epithète films


=> The full schedule of the programs broadcast on TV5MONDE USA is available on the channel’s website!

Related

  • This Week on TV5MONDE USA (January 25-31)This Week on TV5MONDE USA (January 25-31) Every week, France-Amérique will compile a list of 5 films, series, documentaries, cooking shows, and children's shows you don't want to miss on TV5MONDE USA, the first French-language […] Posted in Culture
  • This Week on TV5MONDE USA (January 18-24)This Week on TV5MONDE USA (January 18-24) Every week, France-Amérique will compile a list of 5 films, series, documentaries, cooking shows, and children's shows you don't want to miss on TV5MONDE USA, the first French-language […] Posted in Culture