fbpx

This Week on TV5MONDE USA (January 11-17)

Every week, France-Amérique will compile a list of 5 films, series, documentaries, cooking shows, and children’s shows you don’t want to miss on TV5MONDE USA, the first French-language television channel in the United States.


1. Il a déjà tes yeux – Episodes 1 & 2
Tuesday, January 12, at 11:30 pm EST (8:30 pm PST)

It’s back to school for Benjamin and Noé who find themselves in the same class. Sali is job-hunting, while Paul is still a florist. When Lazare, to whom Paul hasn’t spoken for years, arrives unexpectedly from Ivory Coast, the happy balance of the family is put under considerable strain! | Series directed by Lucien Jean-Baptiste with Lucien Jean-Baptiste, Aïssa Maïga, and Arié Elmaleh (France, 2019).

il-a-deja-tes-yeux-Jean-Claude-Lother-france-televisions

© Jean-Claude Lother/France Télévisions


2. La piste des senteurs, de Florence à Grasse
Wednesday, January 13, at 3 pm EST (12 pm PST)

Florence, 1533. The Dominicans of Santa Maria Novella create the first eau de toilette containing alcohol for the wedding of Catherine de’ Medici. The “Queen’s water” proved popular in Europe. From Tuscany to Grasse, sourcing expert Stéphane Piquart seeks out the plants of the Renaissance. | Documentary directed by Antoine Rivière (France, 2017).

la-piste-des-senteurs-de-florence-a-grasse-Flair-production-Ushuaia-TV

© © Flair Production/Ushuaïa TV


3. Un chat un chat
Thursday, January 14, at 8:30 pm EST (5:30 pm PST)

Thirty-five year-old Célimène, suffering from writer’s block, is staying temporarily at her mother’s with her son. But living together is difficult… One day she meets Anaïs, a young woman who’s been stalking her for several days. Anaïs is determined to help Célimène, offering herself as a subject for her writing! | Film directed by Sophie Fillières with Chiara Mastroianni, Agathe Bonitzer, and Malik Zidi (France, 2008).

un-chat-un-chat-Chiara-Mastroianni-Pierre-Grise-Productions-Les-Films-du-Losange

© Pierre Grise Productions/Les Films du Losange


4. Le siège – Season 1, Episodes 3 & 4
Saturday, January 16, at 6:30 pm EST (3:30 pm PST)

As Godin gives the police an ultimatum, Chantale Trempe wonders about Mario’s somewhat strange behavior. Julien Spick, who is covering the social and economic impacts of the crisis for the region, meets Gisèle, Mario’s wife. She doesn’t appear particularly inclined to help him… | Series directed by Jim Donovan with Gilles Renaud, Alexandre Goyette, and Sacha Charles (Canada, 2017).

le-siege-Phare-Est-Media-Attraction-Images

© Phare-Est Média/Attraction Images


5. Une vie
Sunday, January 17, at 8:30 pm EST (5:30 pm PST)

Normandy, 1819. Jeanne Le Perthuis des Vauds leaves the convent where she has been studying to marry Julien de Lamare. He quickly reveals himself to be miserly, brutal, and unfaithful. She gradually loses her illusions and innocence, and faces up to her hostile environment. | Film directed by Stéphane Brizé with Judith Chemla, Jean-Pierre Darroussin, and Yolande Moreau (Belgium, France, 2016).

une-vie-stephane-brize-Micheal-Crotto-TS-Productions

© Michaël Crotto/TS Productions


=> The full schedule of the programs broadcast on TV5MONDE USA is available on the channel’s website!

Related

  • This Week on TV5MONDE USA (January 25-31)This Week on TV5MONDE USA (January 25-31) Every week, France-Amérique will compile a list of 5 films, series, documentaries, cooking shows, and children's shows you don't want to miss on TV5MONDE USA, the first French-language […] Posted in Culture
  • This Week on TV5MONDE USA (January 18-24)This Week on TV5MONDE USA (January 18-24) Every week, France-Amérique will compile a list of 5 films, series, documentaries, cooking shows, and children's shows you don't want to miss on TV5MONDE USA, the first French-language […] Posted in Culture