fbpx
Subscribe
Festival-de-BD-Seattle-comic-arts-made-in-france

This Week on TV5MONDE USA (November 23-29)

Every week, France-Amérique will compile a list of 5 films, series, documentaries, cooking shows, and children’s shows you don’t want to miss on TV5MONDE USA, the first French-language television channel in the United States.


1. Desrances
Monday, November 23, at 11:30 pm EST (8:30 pm PST)

Francis Desrances has made a life for himself in Ivory Coast after his family was massacred in Haiti. But as civil war breaks out in Abidjan, his demons suddenly resurface when his wife and baby disappear. Fortunately he is not alone; he can count on his daughter Haïla. | Film directed by Apolline Traoré with Jimmy Jean-Louis, Delphine Ouattara, and Jemima Naomi Nemlin (Burkina Faso, France, 2018).

desrances-les-films-Selmon-Araucania-films

© Les films Selmon/Araucania Films


2. Lola vers la mer
Tuesday, November 24, at 8:30 pm EST (5:30 pm PST)

Lola, an 18-year-old transgender girl, recently lost her mother. Her father threw her out two years previously. When they meet up, the atmosphere is decidedly frosty. Together however, they must reach an understanding to respect the deceased’s last wishes. | Film directed by Laurent Micheli with Mya Bollaers, Benoît Magimel, and Sami Outalbali (Belgium, France, 2018).

Lola-vers-la-mer-Les-films-du-Losange

© Les films du Losange


3. Nos vie formidables
Thursday, November 26, at 8:30 pm EST (5:30 pm PST)

Thirty-two year-old Margot has just arrived in a rehab centre where she meets Jérémy, Salomé, César, Sonia… They have nothing in common except an urgency to rebuild their lives and recreate the connection with others that addition has destroyed. Because there’s always a greater chance of recovering with others than alone. | Film directed by Fabienne Godet with Julie Moulier, Zoé Héran, and Bruno Lochet (France, 2017).

nos-vies-formidables-le-bureau

© Le Bureau


4. Les maîtres des abeilles – Les arbres en héritage
Saturday, November 28, at 11 am EST (8 am PST)

In Indonesia, on the island of Borneo, the Apis dorsata (giant honey bees) build their colonies in the big sacred trees called Lalaus. We meet Ouaksah who perpetuates the tradition of nocturnal harvests. In central Russia, in the national park of Shulgan Tash, the honey of the Bourzian bees is harvested on horseback… | Documentary directed by Frédéric Febvre (France, 2018).

les-maitres-des-abeilles-sacrees-ethiopie-ethiopia-honey-bees-Arte-France-Grand-angle-productions

© Arte France/Grand Angle Productions


5. Le fils à Jo
Sunday, November 29, at 8:40 pm EST (5:40 pm PST)

In a village in the Southwest of France, Jo Canavaro raises his 13 year-old son, Tom, alone. A rugby legend like his father and grandfather, Jo intends to initiate his son. But to his great consternation, the teenager is as good at maths as he is terrible on the field… | Film directed by Film réalisé par Philippe Guillard with Gérard Lanvin, Jérémie Duvall, and Olivier Marchal (France, 2009).

le-Fils-a-Jo-gerard-lanvin-Gaumont-LGM-Films

© Gaumont/LGM FIlms


=> The full schedule of the programs broadcast on TV5MONDE USA is available on the channel’s website!

Related

  • This Week on TV5MONDE USA (November 16-22)This Week on TV5MONDE USA (November 16-22) Every week, France-Amérique will compile a list of 5 films, series, documentaries, cooking shows, and children's shows you don't want to miss on TV5MONDE USA, the first French-language […] Posted in Culture
  • This Week on TV5MONDE USA (November 9-15)This Week on TV5MONDE USA (November 9-15) Every week, France-Amérique will compile a list of 5 films, series, documentaries, cooking shows, and children's shows you don't want to miss on TV5MONDE USA, the first French-language […] Posted in Culture