fbpx
Subscribe

This Week on TV5MONDE USA (October 12-18)

Every week, France-Amérique will compile a list of 5 films, series, documentaries, cooking shows, and children’s shows you don’t want to miss on TV5MONDE USA, the first French-language television channel in the United States.


1. Les nuits de la pleine lune
Tuesday, October 13, at 8:30 pm EST (5:30 pm PST)

Louise lives with Rémi in a distant Parisian suburb. She loves going out, mixing with people and often comes home late. To put an end to her partner’s complaints, she decides to get herself a pied-à-terre in Paris. Rémi, an early-riser and a homebody, finds her increasingly difficult to understand… | Film directed by Eric Rohmer with Pascale Ogier, Tcheky Karyo, and Fabrice Luchini (France, 1984).

les-Nuits-de-pleine-lune-Films-du-Losange-Films-Ariane

© Films du Losange/Films Ariane


2. Auguste Escoffier ou la naissance de la gastronomie moderne
Wednesday, October 14, at 8:30 pm EST (5:30 pm PST)

He raised gastronomy to a veritable art form. The visionary chef Auguste Escoffier revolutionized cooking at the turn of the 19th century. The fascinating details offered by enthusiastic disciples, historians and cookery critics, combine to serve up a well-documented portrait of the “king of chefs and chef of kings .” | Documentary directed by Olivier Julien (France, 2019).

=> Read our interview with director Olivier Julien

Auguste-escoffier-Imagissime-arte

© Imagissime/Arte


3. Echappées belles : Week-end sur la Côte d’Albâtre
Friday, October 16, at 11:10 pm EST (8:10 pm PST)

Taking its name from the color of the chalk cliffs overlooking the sea, France’s Alabaster Coast was a destination much appreciated by the Impressionist painters, who were dazzled by its exceptional and ever-changing light. We meet some of those who care for the natural riches of this little corner of Normandy. | Documentary presented by Tiga (France, 2018).

echappees-belles-week-end-sur-la-Cote-Albetre-normandie

© D.R.


4. Le village préféré des Français
Saturday, October 17, at 11:15 pm EST (8:15 pm PST)

Stéphane Bern has traveled the backroads of mainland and overseas France to discover new wonders. History, heritage, gastronomy, crafts, traditions… The fourteen villages he selected all vie to be the most charming! Which one will be the French’s favorite village this year? | Entertainment show presented by Stéphane Bern (France, 2020).

le-village-prefere-des-francais-2020-stephane-bern-Christophe-Lartige

© Christophe Lartige/France Télévisions


5. Place des victoires
Sunday, October 18, at 8:40 pm EST (5:40 pm PST)

The story of an improbable but life-saving encounter between Bruno, in his forties dealing with professional and family setbacks, and Gagic, a young boy from the streets and a mischievous pilferer. Guided by the solitary boy, playful and poetic, Bruno will gradually find hope. | Film directed by Yoann Guillouzouic with Guillaume de Tonquédec, Piti Puia, and Richard Bohringer (France, 2018).

Place-des-victoires-Matthieu-Suprin

© Matthieu Suprin


=> The full schedule of the programs broadcast on TV5MONDE USA is available on the channel’s website!

Related