fbpx
Subscribe
Festival-de-BD-Seattle-comic-arts-made-in-france

This Week on TV5MONDE USA (October 26-November 1)

Every week, France-Amérique will compile a list of 5 films, series, documentaries, cooking shows, and children’s shows you don’t want to miss on TV5MONDE USA, the first French-language television channel in the United States.


1. Cinéma antillais, un cinéma en résistance
Monday, October 26, at 4 pm EST (1 pm PST)

French Caribbean cinema has battled to exist. Even if it remains relatively unknown, often overshadowed by that of mainland France, it has produced some major films embracing issues such as colonial heritage, identity, racism, and the representation of Black actors. The documentary looks back at its emergence over 50 years. | Documentary directed by Alexandre Hilaire (France, 2019).

Cinema-antillais-en-resistance-Mat-Films_Kasso-Inc-Production

© Mat Films/Kasso Inc Production


2. Anna Karina, souviens-toi
Wednesday, October 28, at 4 pm EST (1 pm PST)

Emblematic actress of the New Wave, Anna Karina was part of the great French film revival in the 1960s. The documentary sets her story into that of the period, but is also a love letter addressed by Dennis Berry to the person who shared his life for over twenty years. | Documentary directed by Dennis Berry (France, 2017).

Anna-Karina-Pierrot-le-Fou-Jean-Luc-Godard

© Studiocanal/SNC


3. Cap Sud-Ouest : Musée d’Aquitaine, visite d’exception
Thursday, October 29, at 5 pm EST (2 pm PST)

An immersive visit to the Museum of Aquitaine, in Bordeaux, to meet the enthusiasts running it and keeping it alive. Created in 1963 with the aim of assembling the historical and archaeological collections of Bordeaux in one place, the Museum of Aquitaine is amongst the oldest and greatest of France’s museums. | Documentary show directed by Eric Perrin (France, 2020).

musee-aquitaine-bordeaux-Lysiane-Gauthier

© Lysiane Gauthier


4. Nomades
Thursday, October 29, at 9:30 pm EST (6:30 pm PST)

Naïma is a single mother raising three sons in Tangier, Morocco. The Spanish coast is visible, just over there. Tragically, her two eldest gave in to the temptation of exile. But when Hosseïn contemplates following the same route as his brothers, Naïma decides to take him to the south of the country. | Film directed by Olivier Coussemacq with Jamil Idrissi, Jalila Talemsi, and Asmaa El Hadrami (France, Morocco, 2017).

nomades-Local-Films-A-Perte-de-Vue-Awman-Productions

© Local Films/A Perte de Vue/Awman Productions


5. Hors normes
Sunday, November 1, at 8:40 pm EST (5:40 pm PST)

Bruno and Malik have been fighting to support those suffering from autism for some twenty years. But as their work continues to train youngsters to help the more complex cases, those refused by medical institutions, an investigation by a government authority threatens Bruno’s association, accusing him of employing non-qualified staff. | Film directed by Olivier Nakache and Eric Toledano with Vincent Cassel, Reda Kateb, and Hélène Vincent (France, 2018).

vincent-cassel-hors-normes-Carole-Bethuel-quad-ten-cinema

© Carole Bethuel/Quad/Ten Films


=> The full schedule of the programs broadcast on TV5MONDE USA is available on the channel’s website!

Related

  • This Week on TV5MONDE USA (November 23-29)This Week on TV5MONDE USA (November 23-29) Every week, France-Amérique will compile a list of 5 films, series, documentaries, cooking shows, and children's shows you don't want to miss on TV5MONDE USA, the first French-language […] Posted in Culture
  • This Week on TV5MONDE USA (November 16-22)This Week on TV5MONDE USA (November 16-22) Every week, France-Amérique will compile a list of 5 films, series, documentaries, cooking shows, and children's shows you don't want to miss on TV5MONDE USA, the first French-language […] Posted in Culture