Je m'abonne

Les ailes du souvenir

Oscar du Meilleur film en 1929, Wings (Les Ailes) de William Wellman est un classique du cinéma américain muet. A l’occasion du centenaire de l’entrée en guerre des Etats-Unis, le film sera projeté du 6 au 16 avril à New York, Chicago, Washington, St. Louis et Minneapolis.

Fable épique aux allures de tragédie, Wings raconte l’histoire d’un triangle amoureux entre deux soldats américains, Jack (Charles Rogers) et David (Richard Arlen), et une infirmière, Mary (Clara Bow), surpris par l’entrée des Etats-Unis dans la Grande Guerre. Alors que Jack et David rejoignent l’armée de l’air et prennent part aux combats aériens sur le territoire français, Mary s’engage comme infirmière dans le corps des ambulancières.

Premier succès de l’Américain William Wellman, également réalisateur d’Une étoile est née (A Star Is Born, 1937) et de L’Etrange incident (The Ox-Bow Incident, 1943), le film relate la bataille de Saint-Mihiel, dans la Meuse, où les troupes américaines ont été fortement engagées en 1918. Wings rappelle également le rôle joué par l’escadrille Lafayette, cette unité de volontaires américains sous commandement français constituée en 1916.

wings-William-Wellman-movie

Charles Rogers, Clara Bow et David dans le film Wings (Les ailes) de William Wellman.

A sa sortie en 1927, Wings rencontre un franc succès. Le long métrage est acclamé lors de la première cérémonie des Oscars et reçoit le prix du Meilleur film — il est le dernier film muet à recevoir cette distinction avant The Artist en 2011 — et celui des Meilleurs effets visuels. Ambulancier volontaire, pilote au sein de l’escadrille Lafayette, décoré de la Croix de guerre, William Wellman a puisé dans sa propre expérience de la guerre pour livrer un film au réalisme quasi documentaire.

Avec l’avènement du cinéma parlant, ce film muet avait disparu de la circulation, ses bandes égarées. Une série de bobines ont été retrouvées en 1992 dans les archives de la Cinémathèque française à Paris, copiées et restaurées. Pour commémorer le centième anniversaire de l’entrée en guerre des Etats-Unis, Wings sera projeté dans sa forme originale : un ciné-concert. Le quatuor français Prima Vista donnera vie en direct à cette « guerre vue du ciel ».

Projections

6 avril : Florence Gould Hall, FIAF, New York, NY
9 avril : Music Box Theater, Chicago, IL
11 avril : Maison Française, Washington, DC
14 avril : Winifred Moore Auditorium, St Louis, MO
16 avril : Landmark’s Uptown Theatre, Minneapolis, MN

Laisser un commentaire

Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *

Related

Subscribe

“Wings” Remembered

Winner of the Oscar for Best Picture in 1929, William Wellman’s Wings is a classic of the American silent film era. Upon the centennial of America entering the First World War, the film will be shown in New York, Chicago, Washington, St. Louis and Minneapolis from April 6 to 16.

An epic tale with an air of tragedy, Wings is a story about the love triangle between two American soldiers, Jack (Charles Rogers) and David (Richard Arlen), and a nurse, Mary (Clara Bow), who are taken by surprise at America’s decision to enter the Great War. While Jack and David join the Air Force, taking part in air battles over French territory, Mary signs up as a nurse in the ambulance corps.

The film brought the American William Wellman his first success (he later went on to direct A Star Is Born in 1937 and The Ox-Bow Incident in 1943). The film portrays the Battle of Saint-Mihiel in the Meuse département, where American troops played a significant role in 1918. Wings also recalls the critical role in the war of the Lafayette Escadrille, a French squadron of American volunteer pilots formed in 1916.

wings-William-Wellman-movie

Charles Rogers, Clara Bow, and David in William Wellman’s Wings.

Wings was a great success when it first came out in 1927. At the first Academy Awards ceremony, the feature film was awarded Best Picture — the only silent film to have received the award, before The Artist in 2011. The film also won the award for Best Engineering Effects. Successively a volunteer ambulance driver, a Lafayette Escadrille pilot, and a recipient of the Croix de Guerre, William Wellman drew from his own experiences in the war to deliver such a realist, almost documentary-like film.

With the advent of talking movies, this silent movie had disappeared from circulation and was considered a lost film. However, in 1992, a print was found in the archives of the Cinémathèque française in Paris, which was then copied and restored. To commemorate the centennial of American troops entering World War I, Wings will be shown in its original format as a movie-concert. The French Prima Vista quartet will be playing live, bringing to life this “war from above.”

Screenings

April 6: Florence Gould Hall, FIAF, New York, NY
April 9: Music Box Theater, Chicago, IL
April 11: Maison Française, Washington, DC
April 14: Winifred Moore Auditorium, St Louis, MO
April 16: Landmark’s Uptown Theatre, Minneapolis, MN

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Related

  • When Posters Went to WarWhen Posters Went to War As the United States entered the war alongside the Allies in April 1917, admen and artists alike joined forces to “sell the war” to Americans. 20 million propaganda posters were made […] Posted in Culture
  • World War I Through Children’s EyesWorld War I Through Children’s Eyes On April 6, 1917, the United States declared war against Germany, officially entering World War I. An exhibition of 30 drawings from 1917 depicting the American contingent arriving in […] Posted in Culture