fbpx
Je m'abonne
Banner website_back to school

Peur de tout

Un vent d’altérophobie souffle sur l’Europe. Exploités par les droites extrêmes, qui font du repli sur soi leur miel, la peur et le rejet de l’autre, puisqu’il s’agit de cela, enflent au fur et à mesure que les migrants et les réfugiés déferlent sur le Vieux Continent.

Ce ne sont pas les mots qui manquent pour désigner l’hostilité à l’égard de ceux qui sont étrangers ou différents. Sur le modèle de xénophobie ont été construits – entre autres –   judéophobie, islamophobie, christianophobie, mais aussi gynéphobie, androphobie, lesbophobie et même gérontophobie pour exprimer la haine ou la crainte des femmes, des hommes, des lesbiennes, des personnes âgées.

Couramment utilisés pour désigner des peurs irrationnelles, les mots formés avec les suffixes phobe, phobie, phobique (du grec phóbos, « frayeur ») ressortissent, en réalité, aux sciences les plus diverses. Certains, comme hydrophobie, décrivent une réaction chimique. En biologie, le terme halophobe (du grec halos, « sel »), par exemple, fait référence à un organisme qui ne tolère pas un milieu à forte salinité. Les médecins parlent de phonophobie lorsqu’un patient souffre d’hypersensibilité au son, de photophobie lorsque la pathologie touche à la lumière. Mais c’est la psychiatrie qui en fait le plus volontiers usage. Parmi les troubles psychologiques les plus connus, l’agoraphobie et la claustrophobie, c’est-à-dire la peur des espaces publics et celle des espaces confinés.

La liste des frayeurs suscitées par la présence ou l’idée d’un être, d’un objet ou d’une situation est sans fin. Elle va de l’acrophobie (peur de la hauteur) et la nyctophobie (la peur du noir) à la pyrophobie (la peur du feu) en passant par la mysophobie, la kénophobie, la gymnophobie, la brontophobie ou encore l’hylophobie (les peurs de la saleté, de l’obscurité, de la nudité, du tonnerre, des forêts).

On peut aussi être nosocoméphobe quand on a en horreur les hôpitaux, chorophobe lorsqu’on a peur de danser, asthénophobe si l’on craint de s’évanouir, émétophobe quand on est habité par la hantise de vomir. La glossophobie est la peur de parler en public, la sidérodromophobie celle de voyager en train, la stasophobie celle d’avoir à rester debout.

Vous avez les clowns en aversion ? Vous souffrez de coulrophobie. Les poupées vous révulsent ? Il s’agit de pédiophobie. Les tombes et les trous ? Vous êtes à la fois taphophobe et trypophobe.

On ne saurait passer  sous silence une angoisse récurrente que connaissent ceux qui, écrivains ou journalistes, placent l’écriture au centre de leur existence : la  leucosélophobie, le fameux syndrome de la page blanche.

Les animaux, on l’imagine aisément, sont l’objet de nombreuses craintes. Très courantes sont celles des araignées (arachnophobie), des serpents (ophiophobie), des souris et des rats (musophobie). Mais on compte aussi beaucoup d’ichthyophobes et de chiroptophobes (ceux qui sont effrayés par les poissons et les chauves-souris). Il arrive aussi qu’on ne supporte pas la vue d’un chat, d’un poulet, d’un oiseau. On est alors ailurophobe, alektorophobe, ornithophobe. Ceux qui connaissent un peu de grec et de latin n’ont pas trop de mal à repérer le sens de ces mots. C’est ainsi qu’ils comprennent tout de suite que la cuniculophobie est la peur du lapin (cuniculus en latin).

Des humoristes se sont amusés à enrichir la liste. Ils ont inventé l’eibohphobie, la peur des palindromes, le mot étant lui-même un palindrome – c’est-à-dire qu’il se lit indifféremment de gauche à droite et de droite à gauche en gardant le même sens. On leur doit aussi l’hippopotomonstrosesquippedaliophobie, la peur… des mots longs.

Les superstitions n’échappent pas à ce délire lexical. La triskaïdékaphobie est la peur du chiffre 13, l’hexakosioihexekontahexaphobie celle du nombre 666.

Régulièrement surgit un mot nouveau qui en dit beaucoup sur notre mode de vie actuel. C’est le cas de la nomophobie, qui vient de l’anglais nomophobia (pour « no mobile phobia ») et désigne la crainte d’être privé de son smartphone.

Les peurs irrationnelles sont, on le voit, parmi les troubles les plus répandus dans l’espèce humaine. La seule vraie question en fin de compte est de savoir lequel est le plus difficile à vivre. Ne serait-ce pas la pantophobie (la peur de tout) ? Ou la phobophobie (la peur d’avoir peur) ?

 

Chronique publiée dans le numéro d’avril 2016 de France-Amérique.

Related

Subscribe
piaf-the-show-ad-anne-carrere-edith-carnegie-hall-new-york

The Fear of Everything

A wave of alterophobia is washing over Europe. Manipulated by the extreme right-wing parties who preach their own forms of inward-looking attitudes, the fear and rejection of others – which is in fact at the base of these ideas – increase as more and more migrants and refugees arrive at European borders.

We are hardly lacking words to describe hostility to those who are different or from elsewhere. Based on the model of xenophobia, more developed examples include judeophobia, islamophobia, christianophobia. There is even gynophobia, androphobia, lesbophobia and gerontophobia, which respectively describe a fear or hatred of women, men, lesbians and the elderly.

Generally used to define irrational fears, words formed with the suffixes “phobe”, “phobia” and “phobic” (from the Greek phóbos, meaning “fear”) are in fact used in many different scientific fields. Some, such as hydrophobia, describe a chemical reaction. In biology, the term halophobe (from the Greek halos, meaning “salt”), refers to an organism which cannot tolerate highly saline environments. Doctors use phonophobia to describe a patient suffering from a hypersensitivity to sound, and photophobia when the pathology relates to light. But the field of psychiatry uses the most terms to describe phobias. The best-known psychological problems include agoraphobia and claustrophobia, respectively meaning the fear of open spaces and closed spaces.

The list of fears caused by the presence or the idea of a being, an object or a situation is endless. Examples include acrophobia (feat of heights), nyctophobia (fear of the dark), pyrophobia (fear of fire), mysophobia, kenophobia, gymnophobia, brontophobia and hylophobia (the fears of contamination, voids, nudity, thunder and forests).

Nosocomophobes are scared of hospitals, chorophobes are scared of dancing, asthenophobes are scared of fainting, and emetophobes balk at the idea of vomiting,

Glossophobia is the fear of public speaking, siderodromophobia is a fear of travelling in trains, and stasophobia describes a fear of standing.

Those who hate clowns may well have coulrophobia. Those revolted by dolls suffer from pediophobia, and anyone terrified by graves and holes could be diagnosed with both taphophobia and trypophobia.

Of course we could not discuss this subject without referring to the recurring fear felt by those who write for a living or for pleasure: leucoselophobia is used to describe the famous “blank page” syndrome.

It is easy to see animals as the source of numerous fears. The most renowned are the fears of spiders (arachnophobia), snakes (ophiophobia), and mice and rats (musophobia). But there are also large numbers of ichthyophobes and chiroptophobes (those terrified of fish and bats respectively). And certain people cannot stand the sight of cats, chickens or birds, which make them ailurophobic, alektorophobic or ornithophobic.

Anyone who knows a little Greek or Latin should be able to deduct the meaning of many phobias quite easily. They would, for example, immediately understand that cuniculophobia is a fear of rabbits (from the Latin cuniculus).

Comedians have had a lot of fun embellishing the list. Their inventions include aibohphobia, which is the fear of palindromes; the word itself is a palindrome, meaning it can be read both from left to right, and vice versa, while keeping the same meaning. They are also to thank for hippopotomonstrosesquippedaliophobia – the fear of long words, of course!

Superstitions are another field home to this lexical madness. Triskaidekaphobia is a fear of the number 13, and hexakosioihexekontahexaphobia describes a fear of the number 666.

New words of this ilk are appearing all the time, and many are truly a sign of the times. Such is the case of nomophobia, which is formed of the words “no”, “mobile” and “phobia”, and describes the fear of not having your smartphone to hand.

We are all aware that irrational fears are one of the most widespread problems affecting the human race. The only question that remains is which of the following would be hardest to bear: pantophobia (the fear of everything) or phobophobia (the fear of fear itself)?

 

Column published in the April 2016 issue of France-Amérique.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Related

  • The Real French WomanThe Real French Woman A bomb exploded at the Molitor swimming pool in Paris on July 5, 1946, revolutionizing the status of French women and sending shockwaves through the rest of the world. The culprit behind […] Posted in Opinion, Society
  • The Global Warming Cool-DownThe Global Warming Cool-Down Donald Trump already appears to be bogged down in U.S. bureaucracy. His hands are tied by multiple counter-powers, starting with his own Republican Party. The President-elect is now […] Posted in Opinion, Society