Je m'abonne

Tag: Illinois

raphael-zarka-paving-space-skate-skateboard
Onze artistes français et américains pour une exposition à Chicago

Depuis sa création en 2013, le programme Hors les Murs du Palais de Tokyo a permis de diffuser les œuvres en provenance de cette institution parisienne dans le monde entier. Le musée d'art contemporain organise son premier projet à grande échelle aux Etats-Unis, du 13 septembre au 29 octobre, au DuSable Museum of African American History à Chicago. Dans le...

Mexique-Chicago-French-Mexican-Restaurant
Fusion franco-mexicaine à Chicago

Des années après ses modestes débuts aux Etats-Unis, le chef mexicain Carlos Gaytan utilise toujours sa formation en cuisine française pour réinventer la gastronomie mexicaine. Son restaurant, Mexique, participera à la French Restaurant Week de Chicago jusqu’au 23 juillet. Né il y a quarante-six ans dans une petite ville à proximité d’Acapulco, Carlos Gaytan a émigré aux Etats-Unis et a appris...

Dennis-Stroughmatt-esprit-creole-illinois-french-music-fiddle
Sur un air de violon, la quête d’un dialecte oublié

Dennis Stroughmatt n’aimait pas le français à l’école. Cela n’a nullement empêché ce musicien et historien américain de devenir l’unique gardien d’un dialecte français en voie de disparition dans les Etats du Missouri, de l’Illinois et de l’Indiana. Aujourd’hui, il se bat pour préserver le "français de l’Illinois" en donnant des séminaires et des concerts dans tous les Etats-Unis. France-Amérique...

Subscribe

Tag: Illinois

raphael-zarka-paving-space-skate-skateboard
Bringing Parisian Artists to a Chicago Museum

Palais de Tokyo’s Hors les Murs program has been bringing work from the Parisian institution all around the world since its conception in 2013. The contemporary art museum will hold its first large-scale project in the U.S. in Chicago's DuSable Museum of African American History from September 13 to October 29. For the project, titled Singing Stones, eleven French and...

Mexique-Chicago-French-Mexican-Restaurant
A Touch of France in a Chicago Mexican Kitchen

Years after his humble beginning in the United States, Mexican chef Carlos Gaytan still calls on his classical French training to help him reimagine Mexican gastronomy. His restaurant will be participating in Chicago’s French Restaurant Week through July 23. From a dishwasher to the first Mexican chef to be awarded a Michelin star, Carlos Gaytan’s journey to success does not mean...

Chicago-French-Restaurant-Week-gastronomy-brindille
Where to Eat French Cuisine During Chicago’s Restaurant Week?

July 10 to 23, 12 French restaurants in Chicago will be offering special prix fixe menus so that the public can sample their best dishes at affordable prices. The third edition of the city’s French Restaurant Week coincides with Bastille Day celebrations and meals will be offered for $17.89, $38, and 178.90 to echo France’s revolutionary year. Below is a...

Dennis-Stroughmatt-esprit-creole-illinois-french-music-fiddle
Fiddles, French, and the Quest to Save a Forgotten Dialect

Dennis Stroughmatt didn’t like French at school. Despite this fact, the American musician and historian has become the sole guardian of a quickly-vanishing French dialect from Missouri, Illinois and Indiana. Today he is fighting to keep Illinois French alive by teaching seminars and playing concerts throughout the United States. France-Amérique: How did you come upon “Illinois French”? Dennis Stroughmatt: I...