Je m'abonne

Marcel Duchamp s’installe à Washington D.C.

Grâce à un don important, le Hirshhorn Museum de Washington D.C. va offrir un accès sans précédent à l’œuvre d’un des artistes les plus importants et les plus influents de notre époque.

Marcel Duchamp a un jour déclaré : « On peut apprendre une technique, mais on ne peut pas apprendre à avoir une imagination originale. » Une remarque que les visiteurs de l’exposition Marcel Duchamp : La collection Barbara et Aaron Levine, qui ouvre ses portes ce mois-ci au Hirshhorn Museum and Sculpture Garden de Washington D.C., devraient retenir. Première d’une exposition en deux volets en l’honneur d’une promesse de don à l’institution, elle présente quelque 35 œuvres couvrant la carrière de Duchamp à l’époque où il faisait des allers-retours entre Paris et New York, des portraits de l’artiste par Man Ray, Henri Cartier-Bresson et bien d’autres de son entourage, ainsi que des hommages plus contemporains. La deuxième exposition, prévue pour avril 2020, s’intéressera à l’héritage de Duchamp à travers le prisme de la collection permanente du Hirshhorn Museum.

Associé à divers mouvements comme le dadaïsme, le cubisme et le surréalisme, mais n’adhérant qu’à sa propre vision singulière, Duchamp est à l’origine de la notion de l’idée comme art, privilégiant le conceptuel sur ce qu’il nomme le « rétinien » et mettant en valeur la contribution essentielle du spectateur. « Bien qu’il soit impossible de définir l’art, il en a élargi la définition », explique, dans un entretien avec Evelyn Hankins, conservatrice en chef du musée, Aaron Levine, obsédé de Duchamp auto- proclamé, qui a acquis la collection avec son épouse Barbara. « Il en a étendu le champ, comme John Cage ou Bach ont étendu celui de la musique. »

Duchamp en a fait sa marque, à travers ses « ready-made » — des objets usuels manufacturés, qu’il a signés et parfois légèrement modifiés ou composés, révélant, comme le dit l’artiste Robert Rauschenberg, « le manque d’art dans l’art et la créativité dans chaque objet ». Qu’il ne subsiste de ces pièces que des répliques signées bouleverse davantage encore les notions traditionnelles de la valeur d’unicité et d’authenticité. Plusieurs ready-made sont présentés dans l’exposition, dont Hat Rack (Porte-Chapeau) et Comb — un peigne à chien, rien de moins.

marcel-duchamp-Porte-Chapeau-Hat-Rack

Marcel Duchamp, Porte-Chapeau (Hat Rack), 1917-1964. © Association Marcel Duchamp/ADAGP, Paris/Artists Rights Society, New York 2018

Certains visiteurs seront sans doute surpris d’apprendre que l’ « auteur » de Comb a fait ses débuts en tant que peintre traditionnel. Duchamp est né en 1887 en Normandie dans une famille d’artistes. Après le lycée, il suit à Paris ses frères aînés, le graveur et peintre Gaston, connu sous le nom de Jacques Villon, et le sculpteur Raymond (Duchamp-Villon). Dans la capitale, il étudie la peinture à l’Académie Julian, exécute des dessins humoristiques pour des magazines et tâte du post-impressionnisme et du fauvisme. Cependant, même le cubisme, plus cérébral, ne réussira pas à retenir son intérêt.

En 1912, les choses vont changer. Au printemps, il propose au Salon des Indépendants le tableau Nu descendant un escalier, n° 2 — rencontre cubiste/futuriste avec une femme-robot en mouvement — qu’on lui demande de remplacer par quelque chose de moins provocateur. Il préfère alors jeter l’éponge. « A partir de ce moment », écrit l’historien de l’art Francis M. Naumann dans le catalogue de l’exposition, « Duchamp a décidé que plus jamais il ne se soumettrait à une quelconque forme de système de jury et qu’il ne tenterait plus de se conformer aux attentes des autres, un principe libérateur qui allait changer sa vie à jamais et le libérer des codes établis du monde de l’art ».

Néanmoins, l’année suivante, ce même tableau rencontre un succès teinté de scandale à l’Armory Show de New York, un début fracassant sur la scène américaine dont l’écho résonne encore de nos jours. Lorsqu’il arrive à New York pour la première fois en 1915, exempté de servir sous les drapeaux pendant la Première Guerre mondiale à cause d’un souffle au cœur, et désireux de fuir Paris, il est surpris de découvrir qu’il est une célébrité. Duchamp se réjouit du manque de respect pour le passé de la ville, ce qui en fait, selon lui, « un terrain de jeu idéal pour de nouvelles expériences ». Il en repart en 1918, mais reviendra régulièrement pour des séjours pouvant durer jusqu’à une année, avant d’émigrer définitivement en 1942 et de devenir citoyen américain en 1955.

marcel-duchamp

Marcel Duchamp, La Mariée mise à nu par ses célibataires, même (Le Grand Verre), 1934. © Association Marcel Duchamp/ADAGP, Paris/Artists Rights Society, New York 2018

Lors de cette première année passée à New York, Duchamp commence à travailler sur son chef-d’œuvre le plus provocateur, La Mariée mise à nu par ses célibataires, même (Le Grand Verre), qu’Aaron Levine décrit comme une « tentative de créer la sexualité de façon mécanique ». L’artiste mettra par la suite dans La Boîte verte et La Boîte blanche les facsimilés réalisés par ses soins de ses notes manuscrites et de ses dessins, œuvres complémentaires du Grand Verre, qui invitent à la participation active du spectateur. Les deux sont présentées, tout comme sa boîte la plus célèbre, la Boîte-en-valise — un musée portatif ingénieusement assemblé contenant de minuscules répliques de douzaines de ses œuvres, le premier Duchamp que les Levine aient acquis.

Lorsque Evelyn Hankins a demandé aux Levine pourquoi ils avaient choisi son institution pour leur donation, la première réponse d’Aaron a été : « Parce que vous êtes voisin du Musée de l’Air et de l’Espace visité par des millions d’enfants. Et j’espère que quelques-uns, en passant devant le Hirshhorn, auront la curiosité d’y faire un saut, et d’expérimenter une nouvelle vision de l’art. » A n’en pas douter, le jeune public s’amusera en contemplant L.H.O.O.Q., la version moustachue de La Joconde réalisée par Duchamp. Certains parents, s’ils sont francophones, ne manqueront pas de s’interroger sur ce titre osé — que Duchamp avait traduit par « There’s a fire down below » —, lorsqu’ils détacheront distinctement chaque lettre de cet allographe. Les autres se contenteront d’une interprétation tout public : L.H.O.O.Q. se prononce « Look » — « Regardez ».


Marcel Duchamp: The Barbara and Aaron Levine Collection
Du 9 novembre 2019 au 12 octobre 2020
Hirshhorn Museum and Sculpture Garden
Washington D.C.


Read the entire article in the November 2019 issue of France-Amérique!

Laisser un commentaire

Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *

Related

Exhibition

Marcel Duchamp Finds a Home in Washington D.C.

Thanks to a major gift, the Hirshhorn Museum in Washington, D.C. will offer unprecedented access to the work of one of the most pivotal and thought-provoking artists of recent times.
Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on pinterest
Share on whatsapp
Share on email
Marcel Duchamp with his readymades Bicycle Wheel and Fountain in 1961. © Martin Lazarus/Association Marcel Duchamp/ADAGP

Marcel Duchamp once observed that “a technique can be learned, but you can’t learn to have an original imagination” – a perfect mental note for visitors to Marcel Duchamp: The Barbara and Aaron Levine Collection, which opens this month at the Hirshhorn Museum and Sculpture Garden in Washington, D.C. The first of a two-part exhibition celebrating a promised gift to the institution, it presents some 35 pieces spanning Duchamp’s career as he went back and forth between Paris and New York; portraits of the artist by Man Ray, Henri Cartier-Bresson, and others in his orbit; and even homages by contemporary talents. The second exhibition, slated for April 2020, will examine Duchamp’s legacy through the lens of the Hirshhorn’s permanent collection.

Associated with movements such as Dadaism, Cubism, and Surrealism but a true adherent only to his own singular vision, Duchamp pioneered the notion of idea as art, favoring the conceptual over what he termed the “retinal” and emphasizing the essential contribution of the viewer. “Although you cannot define art, he expanded its definition,” says Aaron Levine, the avowed Duchamp obsessive who acquired the collection with his wife, Barbara, in an interview with Hirshhorn Senior Curator Evelyn Hankins. “He expanded it like John Cage expanded music, like Bach expanded music.”

Duchamp did this most famously through his “readymades” – everyday manufactured objects that he signed and sometimes modified slightly or combined, revealing, as the artist Robert Rauschenberg put it, “the lack of art in art and the artfulness of everything.” That these pieces survive only as signed replicas turns traditional beliefs in the value of uniqueness and authenticity still further on their head. Several readymades appear in the show, among them Hat Rack and Comb – a lowly dog comb, no less.

Marcel-Duchamp-Porte-Chapeau-Hat-Rack
Marcel Duchamp, Hat Rack, 1917-1964. © Association Marcel Duchamp/ADAGP, Paris/Artists Rights Society, New York 2018

Some viewers might be surprised to learn that the “author” of Comb started out as a traditional painter. Born into an artistic family in Normandy in 1887, he would follow his elder brothers, printmaker and painter Gaston, a.k.a. Jacques Villon, and sculptor Raymond (Duchamp-Villon) to Paris after high school, study painting at the Académie Julian, draw cartoons for magazines, and dabble in Post-Impressionism and Fauvism. Yet even the more cerebral Cubism failed to hold his interest.

In 1912, things crystallized for him. That spring, he submitted the painting Nude Descending a Staircase, No. 2 – a Cubist-meets-Futurist robot-woman in motion – to the Salon des Indépendants and was asked to replace it with something less provocative. Instead, he opted out. “From that moment onward,” writes art historian Francis M. Naumann in the exhibition catalog, “Duchamp decided that he would no longer subject himself to any form of jury system, nor would he attempt to conform to the expectations of others, a liberating principle that would change his life forever and set him free from the entrenched systems within the art world.”

Nevertheless, this same painting was a “succès de scandale” at the Armory Show in New York the following year, a crashing debut on the American scene that reverberates to this day. When he himself arrived in New York for the first time in 1915, exempted due to a heart murmur from serving in World War I and eager to escape Paris, he was surprised to discover that he was a celebrity. Duchamp relished the city’s lack of reverence for the past, which in his view made it “a perfect terrain for new developments.” He left in 1918 but would return for stays of up to a year, eventually immigrating in 1942 and becoming a U.S. citizen in 1955.

marcel-duchamp-La-Boite-en-valise-1963
La Boîte-en-valise is a green leather suitcase containing miniature replicas, photographs, and color reproductions of works by Duchamp, 1963. © Association Marcel Duchamp/ADAGP, Paris/Artists Rights Society (ARS), New York 2018

During that first year in New York, Duchamp would start constructing his mixed-media masterpiece, The Bride Stripped Bare by Her Bachelors, Even (The Large Glass), which Aaron Levine describes as an “attempt to create sexuality in a mechanical way.” The artist would later put meticulous facsimiles of his scores of handwritten working notes and drawings in The Green Box and The White Box, companion pieces to The Large Glass that invite the viewer’s active participation. Both are displayed in the show, as is his box of all boxes, La Boîte-en-valise – an ingeniously assembled portable museum containing tiny replicas of dozens of his pieces, fittingly the first Duchamp the Levines acquired.

When Evelyn Hankins asked the Levines why they chose to bestow their gift on her institution in particular, Aaron’s first response was, “because you’re next to the Air and Space Museum, where a million kids visit. And hopefully some of them will walk by the Hirshhorn, come in, see the show, and get a new vision of what art is all about.” Any young visitors will surely get a kick out of L.H.O.O.Q., Duchamp’s mustachioed and goateed version of the Mona Lisa. Their parents can puzzle through the risqué French title, which Duchamp translated as “There’s a fire down below” – or just go with the more G-rated take: It sounds like “Look” in English.

marcel-duchamp-mariee-mise-nu-celibataires-Bride-Stripped-Bare-Bachelors
Marcel Duchamp, The Bride Stripped Bare of Her Bachelors, Even (The Green Box), 1934. © Association Marcel Duchamp/ADAGP, Paris/Artists Rights Society, New York 2018

Another key factor for the Levines was that admission to the Hirshhorn, as at all Smithsonian museums, is free. Duchamp’s work will thus be accessible to a broader audience than ever before. Hankins acknowledges that that’s a little daunting but welcomes the challenge. “One of the great things about the Hirshhorn is that we have this well-earned international reputation among the art world, but then we’re very committed to the tourists coming through and doing the crawl along the National Mall, as well as our local audiences. Duchamp can be a very challenging artist, but we’re going to put him out there and try to get people to engage with him. That’s our job.”

Challenging though Duchamp may be, his work seems uniquely suited to this wide-open venue. The Abstract Expressionist artist Willem de Kooning summed it up perfectly: “There is that one-man movement, Marcel Duchamp – for me a truly modern movement because it implies that each artist can do what he thinks he ought to – a movement for each person and open for everybody.”


Marcel Duchamp: The Barbara and Aaron Levine Collection
From November 9, 2019, through October 12, 2020
Hirshhorn Museum and Sculpture Garden
Washington, D.C.


Article published in the November 2019 issue of France-AmériqueSubscribe to the magazine.

couv-cover-france-amerique-magazine-juillet-july-2022-pop-up

The best of French culture

Published in a bilingual format, France-Amérique Magazine is intended for anyone interested in French culture and Franco-American friendship.

Already a subscriber?