fbpx
Subscribe
Festival-de-BD-Seattle-comic-arts-made-in-france

Translating Trump: Mission Impossible?

With his incoherent, repetitive style, coarse expressions, and dubious syntax, the American president has made life difficult for French translators and journalists. In Trumpspeak, translator Bérengère Viennot discusses this tricky task.

Since Donald Trump’s presidential campaign and subsequent election in 2016, translators and journalists worldwide have been faced with a unique challenge: making a Trump-style speech intelligible. While some prefer to paraphrase the U.S. president’s declarations to make them more palatable, French translator Bérengère Viennot says she “dares to translate Trump.” This means daring to write the French equivalent of “shithole countries” (pays de merde or trous à merde) when relating Trump’s outbursts. But also repeating certain words (“great” appeared 41 times in a single interview in late 2016), and accurately relaying dubiously constructed phrases, such as when the president mixed up his words (“mentality” instead of “immunity”) while referring to herd immunity to Covid-19: “Over a period of time, sure, with time, it goes away and you’ll develop, you’ll develop like a herd mentality — it’s going to be herd-developed, and that’s going to happen. That will all happen.”

A faithful rendering of some of Trump’s sentences gives such strange results that journalists are some-times forced to add disclaimers, as seen in a February 20, 2017 article in Le Monde, which stated: “The syntax errors have been deliberately left in.” Viennot sees a real paradox within Trump’s manner of speaking. He uses simple vocabulary, but the style is nevertheless harder to translate than the usual speeches given by other politicians. “It is very misleading for a Francophone who has learned English academically. You understand each word separately, but it all gets very complicated when trying to decipher the underlying message. Aside from pre-written material, his speeches are rarely coherent. Yet translators do not translate words, but messages. We have to ask ourselves what Trump wanted to say to accurately reflect it in our own languages. But often, Trump himself seems to have little idea of what he means.”

This explains the temptation to rewrite the American president’s words. This is the case in India, where many of Trumps remarks are paraphrased — so much so that readers might assume that he speaks like any other political figure. However, enabling people to experience Trump’s true language is crucial for informing the public. Understanding his manner of speech is essential to understanding his political success, particularly among white Americans without college degrees who see themselves in him. By the same token, his ultra-binary way of communicating — things are “good” or “bad,” “great” or “sad” — reflects his simplistic, black-and-white worldview.

“Trump has broken away from the regulated, conventional speeches of the political class,” says Viennot. “As a candidate, then as the president, he has spoken as if he were a reality TV star.” While the translator was originally far from delighted at the prospect of translating the U.S. president’s ill-formed addresses, she now finds it to be a stimulating challenge. “It is harder but more interesting than translating Barack Obama! Trump’s speeches are filled with bumps and pitfalls, both in syntax and meaning. Translating Trump implies translating a stream of consciousness. It is far closer to literary than political translation.”

The translation of nicknames Trump assigns to his enemies also poses a number of interesting linguistic questions. “Slow Joe,” which he uses on Twitter to poke fun at Joe Biden, his adversary in the presidential elections, can be translated by Joe le mou (soft or weak), which is more effective than the overly literal Joe le lent. Since 2016, “crooked Hillary” has been translated as Hillary la véreuse (dishonest), la tordue (twisted), and simply la corrompue (corrupt). Some of the president’s expressions are completely untranslatable, such as “Kung Flu,” a xenophobic slur highlighting the Chinese origins of Covid-19.

In France, the register of speech used by Trump is almost unthinkable in the political sphere. In fact, informal, vulgar phrases are so rare that they generally go down in history. This was the case of the now infamous “casse-toi, pauv’con,” spat out by Nicolas Sarkozy when a farmer refused to shake his hand at the 2008 Paris International Agriculture Show. In translating it, the English-speaking press chose either “get lost, you poor jerk” or “get lost, you bloody idiot.”

Trump has understood the political advantage offered by speaking plainly to give the impression of being close to “real people,” unlike other elites. While rarer, this outspokenness is also occasionally welcomed in France. “Many voters do not identify with speeches by hyper-educated politicians who use incredibly refined syntax and pompous turns of phrase,” says Viennot. “De Gaulle would hardly fit in today. What’s more, syntactical slip-ups from elites help make them more popular, such as Jacques Chirac’s immediately adopted ‘abracadabrantesque’ (‘stupenderous’ instead of ‘stupendous’), and Ségolène Royal’s ‘bravitude’ (‘bravity’ instead of ’bravery’), which became a model for creating neologisms!”


=> Trumpspeak by Bérengère Viennot, translated from French by Susan Pickford, Contra Mundum Press, 2020.


Article published in the November 2020 issue of France-Amérique. Subscribe to the magazine.

Related

  • A Quiet ReliefA Quiet Relief The French are relieved — even delighted — by Donald Trump’s departure. But will Joe Biden’s election herald the return of amicable French-American relations? The 45th president of the […] Posted in Opinion
  • A Divisive ElectionA Divisive Election The November election will be the most racially focused of any in the history of the United States since Abraham Lincoln was elected in 1860, writes Guy Sorman. It will not lead to an […] Posted in Opinion

Livre

Traduire Trump : mission impossible ?

Avec son style décousu et répétitif, ses expressions crues et sa syntaxe bancale, le président américain donne du fil à retordre aux traducteurs et aux journalistes français. Dans La Langue de Trump, la traductrice Bérengère Viennot revient sur cet exercice délicat.
Partager sur facebook
Partager sur twitter
Partager sur linkedin
Partager sur pinterest
Partager sur whatsapp
Partager sur email
© Sylvie Serprix

Depuis la campagne et l’élection de Donald Trump en 2016, les traducteurs et journalistes du monde entier sont confrontés à un dilemme inédit : rendre intelligible le discours trumpien. Si certains sont tentés de paraphraser les phrases du président américain pour les rendre plus acceptables, la traductrice française Bérengère Viennot revendique « oser traduire Trump ». Oser écrire « pays de merde » (ou pour coller à l’expression originale, « trous à merde ») quand il évoque les « shithole countries » donc, assumer la répétition de certains mots (« great » est répété 41 fois dans une interview de fin 2016) et oser les phrases bancales, comme ici lorsqu’il se trompe de mot (« mentality » au lieu de « immunity« ) pour évoquer l’immunité collective au Covid-19 : « Et vous développerez… comme une mentalité collective… Ça va être développé collectivement et ça va arriver. Tout ça va arriver. Mais avec le vaccin, je pense que ça va disparaître très vite. »

La traduction fidèle de certaines phrases de Trump donne un résultat tellement étrange que les journalistes sont parfois forcés d’ajouter des avertissements, comme cet article du journal Le Monde du 20 février 2017 qui précisait : « les fautes de syntaxe ont été volontairement conservées ». Selon Bérengère Viennot, il y a un véritable paradoxe du discours trumpien : le vocabulaire est peu recherché, mais le style est malgré tout plus difficile à traduire que les phrases ordinaires des autres politiciens. « Pour un francophone qui a un anglais scolaire, c’est très trompeur : on comprend tous les mots séparément, mais lorsqu’il s’agit de décrypter le message de fond, les choses se compliquent. Hormis ceux qui ont été rédigés à l’avance, ses messages sont rarement cohérents. Or le travail de traduction ne consiste pas à traduire des mots, mais des messages. Le traducteur doit se demander ce qu’a voulu dire Donald Trump afin de pouvoir le restituer dans sa langue. Et bien souvent, Trump lui-même n’a pas l’air de trop savoir ce qu’il veut dire. »

D’où la tentation de réécrire ce que dit le président américain. C’est notamment le cas en Inde, où de nombreuses interventions de Trump sont paraphrasées de telle façon que les lecteurs pourraient penser que Trump s’exprime comme n’importe quelle personnalité politique. Or donner à entendre le véritable langage de Trump, sans aménagements, est crucial si on veut informer le public. Sa façon de parler est essentielle pour comprendre son succès politique, notamment chez les Américains blancs non diplômés qui se reconnaissent tant en lui. De même, son mode de communication très binaire — les choses sont « good » ou « bad », « great » ou « sad » — reflète sa vision manichéenne et simpliste du monde.

« Trump s’est affranchi du discours policé et convenu de la sphère politique », explique Bérengère Viennot. « En tant que candidat puis président, il a parlé comme lorsqu’il était vedette de téléréalité. » Alors qu’au départ, la traductrice était loin d’être ravie de devoir traduire les phrases bancales du président américain, elle trouve désormais qu’il s’agit d’un défi stimulant : « C’est plus confortable mais moins intéressant de traduire Barack Obama ! Chez Trump il y a des aspérités partout : dans la syntaxe, dans le sens. Traduire Trump, c’est traduire un flux de conscience. Ça se rapproche beaucoup plus de la traduction littéraire que politique. »

La traduction des surnoms donnés par Trump à ses ennemis pose des questions linguistiques intéressantes. « Slow Joe« , qu’il utilise sur Twitter pour se moquer de Joe Biden, son adversaire à la présidentielle, peut ainsi être traduit par « Joe le mou », plus efficace que le trop littéral « Joe le lent ». Depuis 2016, « crooked Hillary » est traduit tantôt par « Hillary la véreuse », la « tordue » ou encore la « corrompue ». Certaines expressions du président sont presque intraduisibles, comme « Kung Flu », soit la grippe kung fu, un jeu de mot xénophobe utilisé pour souligner l’origine chinoise du Covid-19.

En France, le registre de discours utilisé par Trump est presque impensable en politique. Les phrases informelles et vulgaires sont d’ailleurs tellement rares qu’elles deviennent célèbres, comme le « casse-toi, pauv’con » lancé par Nicolas Sarkozy à un agriculteur qui avait refusé de lui serrer la main au Salon de l’agriculture en 2008. Pour la traduction, la presse anglophone avait oscillé entre « get lost, you poor jerk » et « get lost, you bloody idiot« .

Trump a compris qu’il y avait un avantage politique à parler simplement pour donner l’impression d’être proche des « vrais gens », contre les élites. Même s’il est plus rare, ce franc parler est aussi parfois valorisé en France. « Beaucoup d’électeurs ne se retrouvent pas dans les discours d’énarques à la syntaxe extrêmement recherchée et aux tournures pompeuses », rappelle Bérengère Viennot. « De Gaulle ne ferait plus recette aujourd’hui. Et puis les maladresses syntaxiques des élites contribuent à les rendre populaires, comme l’‘abracadabrantesque’ de Jacques Chirac, qui a été aussitôt adopté, ou encore la ‘bravitude’ de Ségolène Royal, qui a servi de modèle à la création de néologismes ! »


=>
La Langue de Trump de Bérengère Viennot, Les Arènes, 2019. Disponible chez Albertine, la librairie française de New York.


Article publié dans le numéro de novembre 2020 de France-Amérique. S’abonner au magazine.

couv-cover-france-amerique-fevrier-february-2021 (1)

Le meilleur de la culture française

Publiée dans un format bilingue, en français et en anglais, la revue France-Amérique s’adresse à tous ceux qui s’intéressent à la culture française et à l’amitié franco-américaine.

Déjà abonné ? Se connecter