Je m'abonne

« America » : L’Amérique de Trump sous le regard des écrivains

« Le FBI aura-t-il la peau de Donald Trump ? » titre le troisième numéro de la revue America. La couverture du trimestriel promet, outre la réponse à cette question, un grand entretien avec le sulfureux James Ellroy, un road trip le long du Mississippi avec Philippe Besson et la dernière nouvelle de Jim Harrison.

Ce « mook » — entre « magazine » et « book » — de 200 pages est le pari fou de François Busnel, présentateur de La Grande Librairie et ancien rédacteur en chef du magazine Lire. Avec Eric Fottorino, fondateur du journal hebdomadaire Le 1, ils proposent « un nouveau regard » sur l’Amérique de Donald Trump. Un regard littéraire, en seize numéros répartis sur les quatre ans de son mandat.

Prendre le temps du reportage

« Tous les experts qui prédisaient qu’Hillary Clinton serait présidente se sont trompés », se souvient François Busnel. « Les romanciers, eux, avaient annoncé ce changement. Ils ont une hypersensibilité que les journalistes n’ont pas. » Il cite Donald Ray Pollock, qui raconte la Rust Belt des classes moyennes en perte de repères, et Wendell Pierce dont le dernier ouvrage décrit La Nouvelle-Orléans dévastée par le passage de l’ouragan Katrina. « Les écrivains viennent des Etats où les experts ne vont pas. Or on ne comprend pas les Etats-Unis en se promenant sur la Cinquième Avenue de New York. »

François Busnel connaît son sujet : en 2011, il se promenait de Brooklyn à Memphis pour la série de documentaires Carnets de route. « Cette fois, j’ai eu envie de créer un journal de reportages dans lequel on enverrait des écrivains et grands reporters sur la route, faire les hobos et raconter leurs voyages sans prétendre à l’objectivité. Prenez le train, allez dans le Bronx, dans les faubourgs de Pittsburgh, ou sillonnez en voiture les vieilles routes de l’Arizona… Pourquoi les éditorialistes ne racontent-ils pas cette Amérique-là, celle des déclassés et de la désillusion ? »

america-magazine-book-mook

Le critique déplore la disparition des feuilletons et grands reportages des pages des journaux. « Je commande pour America les papiers que j’aurais aimé lire dans d’autres revues, avant les élections, et que je n’ai pas lus. La presse française parle des Etats-Unis mais n’a plus la place de publier de longs formats. » Conquis par la revue XXI, il ne cache pas son admiration pour les récits d’Hunter S. Thompson et de John Steinbeck.

Une Amérique pop et romancée

Un grand entretien avec Barack Obama sur l’importance de la littérature, la biographie de John Jacob Astor par Eric Vuillard, le décryptage du Huckleberry Finn de Mark Twain… Au fil des numéros, America mélange reportages de dix pages, chroniques, interview fleuves et dossiers d’analyse fouillés. Les Etats-Unis se racontent à travers les grands classiques de la littérature, les nouvelles publiées en exclusivité, ses films cultes et récits de voyages. « Ce pays est pop : il a inventé le roman d’horreur, la Beat generation et le nouveau journalisme. Ils sont les seuls à avoir un prix Nobel qui écrive des chansons ! », souligne François Busnel.

Il n’hésite pas à qualifier Donald Trump de « personnage de roman ». Au risque de minimiser la portée des décisions du président ? « Pas du tout, un personnage de roman est on ne peut plus sérieux. Il peut être plus réel que l’analyse, car on entre dans sa psychologie. La littérature est un détour qui, paradoxalement, amène à la vérité. » En attendant les « œuvres grandioses » qu’inspireront l’ère Trump, les romanciers et reporters d’America partent à la découverte du pays qui l’a élu, et le racontent sans préjugés.

Laisser un commentaire

Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *

Related

Subscribe

“America”: Donald Trump’s United States as Seen by Writers

“Will the FBI take down Donald Trump?” asks the third edition of French magazine America. As well as the answer to this question, the quarterly publication’s front cover also features an in-depth interview with scandalous author James Ellroy, a road trip along the Mississippi with Philippe Besson, and the last novel by the late Jim Harrison.

This 200-page “mook” — a portmanteau of “magazine” and “book” — represents a wild gamble taken by François Busnel, host of the French literary show La Grande Librairie and former editor in chief of Lire magazine. Along with Eric Fottorino, founder of French weekly newspaper Le 1, the pair offer “a new perspective” on Donald Trump’s America — a literary-based vision spread over 16 issues throughout his time in office.

Taking the Time to Report

“All the experts who claimed Hillary Clinton would be president were wrong,” says François Busnel. “And yet novelists predicted the shift. They have a hypersensitivity that journalists lack.” He goes on to quote Donald Ray Pollock, who discusses the Rust Belt inhabited by middle classes deprived of direction, and Wendell Pierce, whose latest book describes a devastated New Orleans in the wake of Hurricane Katrina. “The writers come from states that experts have never set foot in. You can’t understand the United States by strolling down Fifth Avenue in New York.”

François Busnel knows what he’s talking about. In 2011 he traveled from Brooklyn to Memphis for the Carnets de route documentary series. “This time, I wanted to create an investigative newspaper in which we would send writers and leading reporters on the road to ‘live like hobos,’ and bring back stories of their travels without claiming to be objective. Take the train, go to the Bronx, visits the suburbs of Pittsburgh, drive along the old roads of Arizona. Why don’t editorial writers talk about that side of America, the land of the relegated classes and the disillusioned?”

america-magazine-book-mook

The journalist deplores the disappearance of serial articles and thorough investigations in newspapers today. “I commission stories for America that I would have liked to read in other publications before the elections, but which just weren’t available. The French press talks about the United States, but there’s no room left for feature-length articles.” François Busnel was won over by the French magazine XXI, and is quick to voice his admiration for the works of Hunter S. Thompson and John Steinbeck.

The America of Pop-Culture and Romanticism

Whether an extensive interview with Barack Obama about the importance of literature, the biography of John Jacob Astor by Eric Vuillard, or a closer inspection of Mark Twain’s Huckleberry Finn, the editions of America to-date have blended ten-page investigations, columns, lengthy interviews, and meticulous analyses. A light shone on the United States through the prism of its literary classics, exclusively-published short stories, iconic films and travel diaries. “This country is the heart of pop culture. It invented the horror novel, the Beat Generation, and New Journalism. The Americans are the only ones to have a Nobel Prize laureate who writes songs!” says François Busnel.

The Frenchman is quick to describe Donald Trump as a “fictional character,” and yet denies that this description may minimize the gravity of the president’s decisions. “A fictional character could not be more serious. It can offer a truer vision than a report, because you have to delve into its psychology. Literature is a detour that paradoxically leads to truth.” While we wait for the “great works” inspired by the Trump era, the novelists and reporters at America will continue to discover the country that elected him, painting a picture while leaving prejudice to one side.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Related

  • Macron, the U.S. Media’s Left-Wing DarlingMacron, the U.S. Media’s Left-Wing Darling Despite his smoke-and-mirror tactics, Emmanuel Macron is still seen as a right-wing politician in France. But anyone reading the American press would think he was closer to the left — the […] Posted in Opinion
  • Trump, Made in the USATrump, Made in the USA Which presidential candidate in the United States supposedly described their opponent as “pot-bellied, mutton-headed and cucumber-soled”? It was not Donald Trump, but in fact Zachary […] Posted in Opinion