Je m'abonne

David Serero : « Je veux amener les Américains à l’opéra français »

Pour démocratiser l’opéra, le baryton français mélange les genres. Du 12 au 22 avril prochains, il présentera à New York une version « jazzy » de la pièce Cyrano de Bergerac.

Un pied dans le classique, un pied dans la fantaisie. Le chanteur, metteur en scène et producteur français, installé à New York depuis trois ans, est adepte des grands écarts. Après une version marocaine d’Othello, une version sépharade du Marchand de Venise — une pièce de Shakespeare souvent critiquée pour son antisémitisme — et une adaptation du Dom Juan de Molière dans un « décor de boîte de nuit », David Serero s’attaque à « la plus grande pièce du répertoire français », Cyrano de Bergerac.

En adaptant en anglais le texte d’Edmond Rostand, le Français s’est heurté à une difficulté : les rimes. La traduction d’Anthony Burgess, l’auteur britannique du roman L’Orange mécanique, « ne rend pas justice à la pièce, ni à la richesse du langage », estime David Serero, qui « a repris le texte à zéro ». La référence à l’animal qu’Aristophane appelle « Hippocampéléphantocamélos », intraduisible, a été supprimée. La célèbre tirade du nez a été réécrite.

Pour « moderniser » le texte, le Français s’est inspiré d’une règle courante à Hollywood : les spectateurs doivent être plongés dans l’action dès les cinq premières minutes. Pas de temps morts. La pièce de 1897 a été réduite de trente minutes. David Serero a ensuite ajouté ce qu’il appelle du « champagne » et des « paillettes » : quelques touches de fantaisie en référence à la culture populaire américaine. Ici, un extrait de la chanson « New York, New York » de Frank Sinatra. Là, une entrée sur scène digne d’un spectacle de Broadway, Cyrano danse en haut-de-forme.

« J’utilise l’opéra et les références de la culture américaine — le jazz, la comédie musicale — pour amener le public vers ce classique du théâtre français », explique le metteur en scène, originaire de Chelles en Seine-et-Marne. « Le fait de ne pas être américain me donne l’autorisation d’oser. Peut-être ferai-je par la suite un Molière hip-hop ? »


Cyrano de Bergerac

Du 12 au 22 avril
Center for Jewish History
15 West 16th Street
New York, NY 10011
www.cjh.org

Related

Subscribe

David Serero: “I Want to Take the Americans to the French Opera”

In an effort to make opera more popular, French baritone David Serero is blending genres. From April 12 through 22, he will be presenting a “jazzy” version of Cyrano de Bergerac in New York.

One foot in the classics, and the other in creative whimsy. The French singer, stage director, and producer has been living in New York for three years, and is an expert in shifting between worlds. Following on from a Moroccan version of Othello, a Sephardic take on The Merchant of Venice — a play by Shakespeare often criticized for being anti-Semitic — and an adaptation of Molière’s Dom Juan set in a nightclub, David Serero is now turning to the “the greatest production in the French theatrical canon,” Cyrano de Bergerac.

However, the Frenchman encountered a major obstacle when adapting Edmond Rostand’s script into English — how to transpose the rhymes. The translation by Anthony Burgess, a British author known for his novel A Clockwork Orange, “does not do justice to the play, nor to its rich language,” according to David Serero. Instead, he “started afresh.” The untranslatable reference to the animal Aristophanes calls “Hippocampéléphantocamélos,” has been removed, and the renowned “nose monologue” has been rewritten.

As part of the “modernization” of the text, the baritone drew inspiration from one of the golden rules of Hollywood: audiences have to be immersed in the action within the first five minutes. There is no time for any respite, and the original 1897 play has been shortened by 30 minutes. David Serero then added what he refers to as “champagne” and “glitter” — a few flights of fancy through references to American pop culture. Theatergoers are treated to an extract from Frank Sinatra’s “New York, New York,” as well an entrance worthy of a Broadway show, and a dancing Cyrano sporting a top hat.

“I use opera and American cultural references such as jazz and musicals to introduce the audience to classical French theater,” says the director, who is originally from the town of Chelles, in the Seine-et-Marne département. “The fact I am not American allows me to be more daring. My next project might be a hip-hop version of Molière!”


Cyrano de Bergerac

From April 12 through 22
Center for Jewish History
15 West 16th Street
New York, NY 10011
www.cjh.org

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Related