Je m'abonne

Le rosé à la conquête de l’Amérique

Les ventes de rosé ont bondi de 53% l’an dernier aux Etats-Unis. Une progression record qui s’explique par la culture grandissante du vin en Amérique du Nord et par un marketing agressif de la part des producteurs du Sud de la France.

Le rosé, il est vrai, n’a pas toujours eu bonne réputation. Longtemps, le rosé de référence aux États-Unis a été le White Zinfandel de la maison Sutter Home, un vin californien couleur grenadine, sucré et sirupeux. Une boisson bon marché popularisé par la comédie romantique Pretty in Pink. Tout sauf chic. « Bien des Américains pensent que le rosé est un vin bas de gamme », témoigne l’œnologue franco-américain Paul Chevalier. Ancien employé de Veuve-Clicquot, il est maintenant en charge de la promotion du domaine provençal Château d’Esclans aux Etats-Unis. « J’essaye d’éduquer les consommateurs : j’attire leur attention sur la teinte — rose pâle — puis sur le goût — sec et fruité. »

Le rosé ne représente que 5% du marché du vin aux Etats-Unis, mais il affiche le taux de croissance le plus important : les ventes ont augmenté de 53% entre 2016 et 2017. Les prévisions sont encourageantes pour l’année 2018. Le rosé est la boisson estivale par excellence ; le deuxième samedi de juin a été décrété National Rosé Day par les marchands américains. Dans la région de New York et parmi les jeunes consommateurs, le « pink wine » commence même à concurrencer les champagnes et vins mousseux.

Convertir les Américaine au rosé provençal

Une bouteille de rosé sur cinq aux Etats-Unis porte l’étiquette de Château d’Esclans, à 30 kilomètres au nord de Saint-Tropez. La popularité du millésime Whispering Angel — le best-seller de ce domaine et le vin français le plus vendu aux Etats-Unis en 2016 — est à l’origine de l’engouement des Américains pour le rosé. Aucun vin français n’a été aussi populaire en Amérique du Nord depuis le beaujolais nouveau de Georges Dubœuf dans les années 1980. En 2007, Château d’Esclans a vendu 6 000 bouteilles aux Etats-Unis. Son objectif pour cette année ? Cinq millions.

pinknic-festival-nyc-rose-wine-2017

Une bouteille de rosé de Château d’Esclans au festival Pinknic à New York en 2017. © Pinknic

Pour convertir les Américains au rosé provençal, le représentant de Château d’Esclans passe son temps sur la route. La marque, qui exporte 60% de sa production aux États-Unis, a sponsorisé 458 évènements en 2017 : l’U.S. Open de tennis, le festival Coachella, une régate à Nantucket, un salon nautique à Palm Beach et des soirées dans les stations d’altitude du Colorado. Son DJ officiel ? Une certaine Nicole Rosé.

L’essor du rosé passe aussi par des produits dérivés : bougies « Eau de rosé », casquettes brodées « Make America Rosé Again », matelas de piscine en forme de bouteille, sucettes glacées aromatisées. Ce marketing, pas toujours de très bon goût, a contribué à la popularité du rosé auprès des jeunes consommateurs, et notamment des femmes entre 28 et 33 ans. Selon le Français Pierrick Bouquet, qui organise deux évènements annuels sur le thème du rosé à New York — la croisière La Nuit en Rosé et le festival Pinknic —, le rosé est devenu « le champagne des millennials ».

Des rosés made in the U.S.A.

La moitié des bouteilles de rosé vendues aux Etats-Unis sont importées de France, mais un tiers sont produites sur place. Un pour cent des rosés servis lors de la première édition de La Nuit en Rosé en 2014 étaient américains ; cette année, dix pour cent seront produits aux Etats-Unis. « Les vins des régions Provence-Alpes-Côte d’Azur et Occitanie restent la référence », témoigne Pierrick Bouquet. « Mais certains rosés américains sont aujourd’hui de qualité égale aux vins français. »

Pour conjurer l’image négative du White Zinfandel, les producteurs américains s’inspirent maintenant des techniques viticoles françaises. Michael Croteau, originaire du Vermont, produit du rosé à Southold sur la côte nord de Long Island. Les vignerons provençaux lui ont appris à sélectionner les cépages — il a fait venir de Californie des pieds de merlot, de cabernet franc et de sauvignon blanc — et à minimiser l’utilisation de sulfites : le rosé, qui doit être consommé dans l’année, nécessite moins d’agents conservateurs qu’un vin rouge. Le maître de chai de Croteaux Vineyards a également suivi une formation de trois semaines au Centre de recherche et d’expérimentation sur le vin rosé à Vidauban, dans le Var. « Nos rosés s’améliorent d’année en année », affirme Michael Croteau. « Nous produisons un rosé de type provençal, mais l’environnement marin de Long Island apporte au vin une tonalité minérale singulière. »

Le savoir-fair provençal en Californie

Les producteurs américains recrutent aussi des œnologues et des maîtres de chais français. Julien Fayard, ancien employé de Château Lafite-Rothschild dans le Bordelais, est maintenant consultant dans la vallée de Napa. Il offre ses services à huit domaines. « Le nord de la Californie et la Provence sont proches », observe le Français qui a grandi à Toulon — sa famille possède le domaine Château Sainte-Marguerite, réputé pour son rosé. « Les sols de schiste et de granit sont comparables à ceux de la Provence ; les journées sont aussi chaudes, mais les nuits sont plus froides. »

azur-wines-rose-california-jimmy-hayes-julien-fayard

Le vignoble Covert Estate est l’un des huit domaines californiens qui font appel aux services du Français Julien Fayard pour produire du rosé. © Jimmy Hayes

Contrairement à une croyance populaire, le rosé n’est pas une mélange de vin rouge et de vin blanc ! C’est la peau rouge du raisin qui donne sa couleur au jus, vert pale au moment de son extraction. Certains cépages macèrent pendant deux heures ; d’autres jusqu’à vingt-quatre heures. Plus le processus est long, plus le vin est foncé et sucré. « Il faut aller vite entre le ramassage et le pressage et être précis dans les manipulations », explique Julien Fayard. « Cela a pris du temps pour enseigner cette méthode aux producteurs californiens. »

Le Français est satisfait du résultat. Il commercialise depuis 2007 un « rosé américain d’inspiration provençale » obtenu à partir de syrah et de grenache, deux cépages du sud de la France. Quarante-deux mille bouteilles d’Azur Rosé seront vendues cette année en Californie, dans l’Oregon, en Floride, dans le Missouri et au Texas. « Le terroir d’Azur Rosé est californien, mais notre savoir-faire est français. »

Le rosé américain, une menace pour les vins français ?

Le rosé de Californie ou de l’Etat de New York gagne en qualité, mais il est loin de concurrencer les cuvées françaises. Les cépages plantés aux Etats-Unis — mourvèdre, grenache, syrah, cabernet franc ou merlot — sont trop jeunes pour produire un rosé haut de gamme. Ce qui incite les producteurs américains à pratiquer l’assemblage (blend). Un procédé courant sur la côte Ouest : le rosé de Josh Cellars, par exemple, est obtenu en combinant la récolte de plusieurs vignobles du centre et du nord de la Californie. « C’est un bon vin américain », admet Pierrick Bouquet « mais son origine vague le classerait en France dans la catégorie des vins de table ».

Les rosés américains se distinguent par leur prix. En France, une bonne bouteille de rosé est vendue entre 10 et 15 euros ; elle coûte le double à New York. Les vins américains, entre 15 et 20 dollars la bouteille, offrent un bon rapport qualité-prix, explique l’organisateur de La Nuit en Rosé. « Les rosés américains se rapprochent des vins du centre de la France. Un pinot noir rosé de l’Oregon comme Elouan est comparable à un sancerre rosé de la Vallée de la Loire. »

Article publié dans le numéro de juin 2018 de France-Amérique

  • En fait, Chateau d’Esclans, et beaucoup d’autre vignobles en Provence, utilisent un cepage blanc, Rolle ou Vermentino, dans leurs assemblages, y compris Whispering Angel.

  • Laisser un commentaire

    Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *

    Related

    • La révolution du roséLa révolution du rosé Le rosé a rapidement gagné en popularité auprès des amateurs de vin, se taillant une place à égalité à côté des vins blancs et rouges. Les Etats-Unis, deuxième plus grand consommateur de […] Posted in Business
    • « Le rosé est le champagne des millenials américains »« Le rosé est le champagne des millenials américains » Démodé en France, le rosé a le vent en poupe de l’autre anôté de l’Atlantique. Pierrick Bouquet a profité de l’engouement autour de ce vin pour créer aux Etats-Unis des évènements […] Posted in Business

Subscribe

French Rosé Finds Fame and Fortune in the U.S.

Sales of rosé wine shot up 53% in the United States last year. The reasons for this record growth can be found in the booming wine culture in North America and the aggressive marketing strategies employed by winegrowers from Southern France.

It has to be said that rosé wine has not always had the best reputation. The go-to rosé in the United States was long White Zinfandel by Sutter Home, a grenadine-colored, sweet, syrupy tipple from California. This cheap wine was made popular by the rom-com Pretty in Pink and is hardly the last word in chic. “Many Americans see rosé as a substandard wine,” says Franco-American oenologist Paul Chevalier. After working for Veuve-Clicquot, he is now head of promotion in the United States for the Provençal wine estate Château d’Esclans. “I am trying to educate consumers,” he says. “I draw their attention to the pale pink color followed by the taste, which should be dry and fruity.”

Rosé only counts for 5% of the wine market in the U.S.A. but is currently enjoying the highest growth rate. Sales went up 53% between 2016 and 2017, and the 2018 forecasts are already encouraging. Rosé is a summer drink par excellence, and the second Saturday in June was even named National Rosé Day by American marketers. In the New York region, and particularly among younger consumers, this “pink wine” is even starting to compete with champagnes and sparkling wines.

Converting Americans to Provençal Rosé

One in every five bottles of rosé in the United States bears the label of Château d’Esclans, whose winery is located some 20 miles north of Saint-Tropez. The Whispering Angel vintage — the vineyard’s most popular product and the best-selling French wine in America in 2016 — was the catalyst for American consumers’ first love of rosé. No other French wine has been as successful in North America since George Dubœuf’s Beaujolais Nouveau in the 1980s. Château d’Esclans sold 6,000 bottles in the United States in 2007 and is hoping the figure will be closer to five million this year.

pinknic-festival-nyc-rose-wine-2017

A bottle of rosé by Château d’Esclans at the Pinknic festival in New York City in 2017. © Pinknic

In an effort to convert Americans to Provençal rosé, the Château d’Esclans sales representative spends his time on the road. The brand exports 60% of its production to the United States and sponsored 458 events in 2017, including the U.S. Tennis Open, the Coachella music festival, a regatta in Nantucket, a boating trade show in Palm Beach, and nights at the winter sports resorts of Colorado. Château d’Esclans even has its own official DJ, a certain Nicole Rosé.

The boom in rosé is also driven by derivative products such as “Eau de Rosé” candles, baseball caps proclaiming “Make America Rosé Again,” inflatable pool rafts shaped like bottles, and rosé-flavored popsicles. These (often quite tasteless) marketing techniques have contributed to the rise in the popularity of rosé among younger consumers, particularly women between the ages of 28 and 33. According to Frenchman Pierrick Bouquet, who organizes two annual rosé-themed events in New York — the La Nuit en Rosé river cruise and the Pinknic festival — rosé has become the “champagne of the millennials.”

Rosé Wines Born in the U.S.A.

Half of all bottles of rosé sold in the United States are imported from France, but another third of them are produced on American soil. And while just 1% of the rosé wines served for the first La Nuit en Rosé cruise in 2014 were American, this year the percentage has jumped to 10%. “Wines from the regions of Provence- Alpes-Côte d’Azur and Occitanie are still the market leaders,” says Pierrick Bouquet. “But some U.S. rosés now offer the same quality as French wines.”

American producers are currently trying to remedy the negative image of White Zinfandel and are drawing inspiration from French winemaking techniques. Vermont-born Michael Croteau produces rosé in Southold on the north shore of Long Island. Provençal winegrowers taught him to select grape varieties — he had vine stocks of Merlot, Cabernet Franc, and Sauvignon Blanc brought from California — and to minimize the use of sulfites, as rosé should be consumed within the year and so requires fewer preservatives than red wine. The cellar master at Croteaux Vineyards also attended a three-week training course at the Center for Rosé Research in Vidauban in the Var département. “Our rosé wines are getting better with every year,” says Michael Croteau. “We produce a Provençal-style rosé but the marine environment of Long Island lends the wine its singular mineral notes.”

Provençal Know-How in California

Another initiative led by U.S. producers is the recruitment of French oenologists and winemakers. Julien Fayard, a former employee of Château Lafite-Rothschild in the Bordeaux region, now works as a consultant in Napa Valley where he offers his services to 8 wineries. “Northern California and Provence are similar regions,” says the French wine expert, who grew up in Toulon where his family owns the nearby Château Sainte-Marguerite, a wine estate renowned for its rosés. “The schist and granite soils are comparable to those found in Provence. The days are also just as hot, although the nights are colder in the U.S.A.”

azur-wines-rose-california-jimmy-hayes-julien-fayard

Covert Estate is one of 8 California winemakers who produce rosé with the help of French consultant Julien Fayard. © Jimmy Hayes 

Contrary to popular belief, rosé is not in fact a mix of red and white wines! It actually gets its color from the skins of red grapes, and the juice obtained is pale green after extraction. Some grape varieties macerate for two hours, while others take up to 24 hours. The longer the process, the darker and sweeter the wine will be. “There is no time to waste between the harvest and the pressing, and each movement has to be very precise,” says Julien Fayard. “It took quite a long time to teach the Californian producers this method.”

Despite the time invested, the Frenchman is pleased with the result. He has been producing and selling a “Provençal-inspired American rosé,” made using Syrah and Grenache grapes, two varieties from Southern France, since 2007. Some 42,000 bottles of Azur Rosé will be sold this year in California, Oregon, Florida, Missouri, and Texas. “The Azur Rosé terroir is Californian, but our know-how is French,” he says.

Is American Rosé a Threat to French Wines?

While rosés from California and New York State are growing in quality, they are far from being able to compete with French wines. The grape varieties planted in the United States, including Mataro, Grenache, Syrah, Cabernet Franc, and Merlot, are too young to produce premium rosés. As a result, U.S. producers have begun using a technique known as assemblage or “blending.” This is now common practice on the West Coast. For example, Josh Cellars makes their rosé by combining the harvest from several vineyards from Central and Northern California. Pierrick Bouquet admits “it is a good American wine,” but “its vague origins mean it would be relegated to the status of table wine in France.”

If there is one category in which American wines stand out, it is their price. In France, a good bottle of rosé is sold for between 10 and 15 euros, while high-quality rosé would cost twice that in New York! But the U.S. wines sold between 15 and 20 dollars a bottle offer good value for money according to the organizer of La Nuit en Rosé. “American rosés are comparable to the wines from the center of France. A Pinot Noir rosé from Oregon such as Elouan is similar to a Sancerre rosé from the Loire Valley.”

Article published in the June 2018 issue of France-Amérique

  • En fait, Chateau d’Esclans, et beaucoup d’autre vignobles en Provence, utilisent un cepage blanc, Rolle ou Vermentino, dans leurs assemblages, y compris Whispering Angel.

  • Leave a Reply

    Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

    Related

    • The Rosé RevolutionThe Rosé Revolution Rosé wine has been rising fast in popularity among wine lovers, carving out a place for itself as an equal to white and red wines. The United States, the second largest rosé drinker next […] Posted in Business
    • “Rosé Is the Champagne of American Millenials”“Rosé Is the Champagne of American Millenials” While seen as old-fashioned in France, rosé wine is blossoming in the United States. Pierrick Bouquet spotted an opportunity in the wine’s growing success, and founded two popular events: […] Posted in Business