Je m'abonne

La France plus raciste que les Etats-Unis ?

A en croire un éditorial du New York Times publié le 28 décembre dernier, les Français seraient des racistes qui s'ignorent, tandis que les Américains auraient au moins le mérite de reconnaître les discriminations infligées aux Afro-Américains.

Cette thèse se fonde sur les mésaventures d'une journaliste française d'origine africaine, Rokhaya Diallo, dont on a parlé en Amérique et pratiquement pas en France. Madame Diallo aurait été évincée du Conseil national du numérique, un comité consultatif comme il en existe beaucoup autour de chaque gouvernement, chargé de réfléchir à l'impact d'internet sur la société. Cette exclusion aurait été provoquée par les positions publiques de Madame Diallo qui dénonce le "racisme institutionnel", voire le "racisme d'Etat", qui régnerait en France.

On ne sait pas si son exclusion est vraiment due à ses positions politiques, mais c'est ce que le

Related

  • Un si joli mois de maiUn si joli mois de mai Les manifestations de Mai 68, dont on fête cette année le cinquantième anniversaire, entrainèrent une métamorphose des mœurs telle que la France n’en avait pas connu depuis l’ère […] Posted in Opinion
  • Bannon-Le Pen, l’alliance xénophobeBannon-Le Pen, l’alliance xénophobe Dans la longue histoire des relations transatlantiques surgit, inattendu et paradoxal, un axe entre les mouvements xénophobes français et américains. Marion Maréchal-Le Pen, ancienne […] Posted in Opinion

Subscribe

Is France More Racist Than America?

Anyone reading the op-ed published in the New York Times on December 28, 2017, would believe French people are racists who turn a blind eye, while Americans at least recognize the discrimination inflicted on African-Americans.

This hypothesis is based on the misfortunes of a French journalist of African descent, Rokhaya Diallo, who has made the papers in America while stirring up little debate in France. Ms. Diallo was supposedly ousted from the French National Digital Council, a consulting committee similar to many others set up by different governments, and tasked with examining the impact of the Internet on society. This exclusion is claimed to have been caused by Ms. Diallo’s public positions condemning the "institutional racism," or even "state racism" rearing its head in France.

Subscribers Only

To be able to access this article,
log in or subscribe to France-Amérique.

Related

  • France Discovers VettingFrance Discovers Vetting Both the French and American presidents have the power to appoint people of their choosing to thousands of public sector positions, starting with their cabinet. The difference in France, […] Posted in Opinion
  • The Obsolete Distinction Between Right and LeftThe Obsolete Distinction Between Right and Left While following the American and French presidential elections, it is hard to use the right-wing/left-wing distinction as a framework. The European-style division between classic liberals […] Posted in Opinion