Je m'abonne

Le Cirque : essor et déclin d’un restaurant français

Considéré jadis le meilleur restaurant français de New York, Le Cirque fermera ses portes le 31 décembre 2017. Cette institution vénérée, un exemple de haute gastronomie aux Etats-Unis, a lancé la carrière de nombreux chefs français qui continuent à exercer une grande influence sur l’art culinaire d’aujourd’hui.

Au Cirque, le spectacle se jouait autant dans la salle à manger qu’aux fourneaux. Au moment où un défilé de vedettes, dont Frank Sinatra, Woody Allen, Henry Kissinger, Salvador Dali et Ronald Reagan, se mettaient à table pour dîner, de jeunes prodiges comme Alain Sailhac, Daniel Boulud et Jacques Torres dirigeaient la brigade de cuisine. Le fondateur et propriétaire du Cirque, Sirio Maccioni, un immigré qui paya son voyage d’Italie en travaillant sur des paquebots de croisière, avait un vrai don pour repérer et encourager les talents.

« C’était un auteur dramatique », explique Marco Maccioni de son père, qui mène à présent une vie plutôt retirée. « Ce dont il avait besoin, c’était des comédiens, prêts à faire n’importe quel numéro d’équilibriste pour satisfaire le client. » Le Cirque s’est vu attribuer trois étoiles par le New York Times sous Alain Sailhac, le chef de cuisine de 1978 à 1987, et quatre étoiles — la plus haute distinction du journal — sous Daniel Boulud, qui a pris le relais jusqu’à 1992.

Au cours des dernières années, cependant, le restaurant a connu des moments difficiles. Dans sa dernière critique en 2012, le Times ne lui a décerné qu’une seule étoile. Le steak au poivre et le soufflé au chocolat « manquaient de conviction », écrivit le chroniqueur. « La cuisine donnait l’impression de ne plus viser l’excellence, et probablement de ne plus savoir ce que cela veut dire. »

Récemment un lundi après-midi, le restaurant était à moitié vide lors du déjeuner. Sirio Maccioni, qui depuis l’ouverture du Cirque en 1974, était surnommé « le maître de piste » et était toujours présent pour accueillir les clients, leur serrer la main et réserver des tables pour ses hôtes de marque, n’était pas à son poste près de la porte. En mars dernier, le restaurant a déposé le bilan et quelques mois plus tard, la famille Maccioni a annoncé sa décision de ne pas renouveler son bail et de fermer leur établissement de la 58e Rue au dernier jour de 2017. « Nous fermerons après le dîner de la Saint-Sylvestre », a précisé un porte-parole du restaurant.

Le Cirque pourrait rouvrir dans une nouvelle version plus modeste dans l’Upper East Side, mais pour deux générations de chefs et de clients, la salle à manger de 1 500 mètres carrés restera à jamais le centre de l’univers. « Les tendances gastronomiques sont cycliques », explique Marco Maccioni. « Mais je pense que Le Cirque, tout comme le smoking de James Bond, symbolise ce qu’il y a de classique et d’éternel. »

  • Remember some wonderful food media events there years ago that I was lucky to attend. My last visit, to the current location maybe ten years ago, was for lunch with a friend and included a fabulous Île Flottante for dessert.

  • It really is a shame, people would wear suits to dine here. Tastes change and diners started wearing jeans and sports coats (myself included). Its dining era has passed. $20 for a bellini is a crime. When its over, its over. Thank you, Maccioni family.

  • Laisser un commentaire

    Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *

    Related

Subscribe

Le Cirque: The Rise and Fall of a French Restaurant

Due to close on December 31, Le Cirque was once considered New York’s best French restaurant. The famed institution was held up as an ideal for fine-dining in the U.S. and acted as a starting point for many French chefs that still influence the culinary scene today.

At Le Cirque, the show was in the dining room as much as at the stove. While a parade of celebrities which included Frank Sinatra, Woody Allen, Henry Kissinger, Salvador Dali, and Ronald Reagan sat down for dinner, young prodigies like Alain Sailhac, Daniel Boulud, and Jacques Torres led the kitchen brigade. Le Cirque founder and owner Sirio Maccioni, an immigrant who paid his voyage from Italy by working on cruise ships, had a gift for spotting and attracting talent.

“He was a playwright,” Marco Maccioni said of his father, now mostly retired. “What he needed were performers, people who were ready to do whichever high wire act it took to accommodate the customers.” Le Cirque earned three New York Times stars under Alain Sailhac, who was the executive chef from 1978 to 1987, and four stars — the newspaper’s highest honor — under Daniel Boulud, who took over until 1992.

In the past years, however, the storied restaurant has fallen on hard times. The latest Times review, in 2012, awarded the establishment a lone star. The steak au poivre and the chocolate soufflé “lacked conviction,” wrote the critic. “The kitchen gave the impression that it had stopped reaching for excellence and possibly no longer remembered what that might mean.”

On a recent Monday afternoon, the lunch crowd did not fill half of the dining room. Sirio Maccioni, who was nicknamed “the ringleader” and had been a constant at Le Cirque since its opening in 1974, greeting guests, shaking hands and reserving tables for his most important customers, was absent from his post near the door. The restaurant filed for bankruptcy last March, and a few months later, the Maccioni family announced that they would not renew their lease and close the 58th Street location on the last day of 2017. “We will be closing after New Year’s Eve dinner”, added a spokesperson for the restaurant.

Le Cirque may reopen as a different, smaller restaurant on the Upper East Side, but for two generations of chefs and customers, the 16,000 square-foot dining room will remain the center of the world. “Food trends are cyclical,” said Marco Maccioni. “But I think of Le Cirque like James Bond’s tuxedo, representative of the classics and ageless.”

  • Remember some wonderful food media events there years ago that I was lucky to attend. My last visit, to the current location maybe ten years ago, was for lunch with a friend and included a fabulous Île Flottante for dessert.

  • It really is a shame, people would wear suits to dine here. Tastes change and diners started wearing jeans and sports coats (myself included). Its dining era has passed. $20 for a bellini is a crime. When its over, its over. Thank you, Maccioni family.

  • Leave a Reply

    Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

    Related