Je m'abonne

Recette pour un Thanksgiving à la française

Lassé de la dinde traditionnelle ? Cette année, France-Amérique vous propose de fêter Thanksgiving à la française — autour d’un canard confit. Le chef cuisinier le plus étoilé au monde, le Français Joël Robuchon vous propose cette recette qu’il sert également au restaurant L’Atelier, inauguré le 1er novembre dernier à New York.

[Pour deux personnes]

Ingrédients

Pour le canard :
2 cuisses de canard
1 kg de graisse de canard
10 cl d’eau

Pour la marinade :
1 gousse d’ail, épluchée et dégermée
30 g de gros sel
1 brin de thym frais
2 gousses d’ail entières
1 cuillère à thé de poivre moulu

Pour le confit :
2 cuisses de canard confit
Saindoux
1 large cocotte en céramique et son couvercle

Préparation

– La veille : Rincez le thym, placez les cuisses dans un large plat de cuisson couvert d’une bonne longueur de film alimentaire. Frottez la viande avec l’ail et le gros sel. Frottez la branche de thym entre vos mains, saupoudrez les feuilles sur le plat et jetez la tige. Ajoutez les gousses d’ail et le poivre, emballez les cuisses dans le film alimentaire et réfrigérez pendant 24 heures.

– Le jour suivant : Dans une casserole, faites fondre la graisse à feu très doux et ajoutez les 10 cl d’eau. Pendant ce temps, sortez la viande du réfrigérateur, jetez les gousses d’ail et retirez le poivre, le sel et le thym à l’aide d’un pinceau.

– Lorsque la graisse commence tout juste à mijoter, plongez délicatement les cuisses dans la casserole. Toujours à feu doux — la cuisson doit se faire lentement et sans précipitation — laissez mijoter pendant 1 heure et 40 minutes. Vous pouvez vérifier la cuisson en piquant la viande à l’aide d’une aiguille : le jus qui s’échappe doit être parfaitement liquide. Retirez les cuisses avec une écumoire et déposez-les sur une grille de refroidissement.

– Pour confire les cuisses de canard : Pendant que la viande refroidit, clarifiez la graisse. A l’aide d’une louche, retirez l’écume qui s’est formée à la surface. Placez une passoire à maille fine au-dessous d’un grand bol et filtrez la couche supérieure de graisse contenue dans la casserole. Attention de ne pas inclure les particules brûlées qui sont au fond de la casserole.

– Avec la même louche, versez une épaisseur de 2 cm de graisse filtrée dans la cocotte en céramique et placez le récipient au réfrigérateur pendant 10 à 15 minutes, le temps que la graisse fige.

– Placez ensuite les cuisses de canard sur ce lit de graisse figée (la viande doit être entièrement recouverte) et complétez le récipient avec trois quarts de la graisse filtrée. Couvrez et réfrigérez. Versez le reste de la graisse filtrée dans un autre récipient hermétique et réfrigérez. Après un jour ou deux, réchauffez la graisse qui reste à feu doux et une fois liquide, versez-la dans la cocotte en céramique de manière à couvrir la viande entièrement.

– Réfrigérez à nouveau pendant au moins une heure. Une fois la graisse figée, faites fondre suffisamment de saindoux pour créer une couche de 1 à 2 cm à la surface de la cocotte. Le saindoux, plus dense que la graisse, permettra de confire au mieux le canard.

– Réfrigérez à nouveau. Une fois que le saindoux solidifié, pressez une feuille de papier sulfurisé à la surface de la cocotte et refermez le couvercle. Ainsi préparées, les cuisses de canard se garderont 5 à 6 mois au réfrigérateur.

– Pour poêler ou griller les cuisses confites : Préchauffez le four à Th. 7 (200 ̊C). Pendant ce temps, faites revenir les cuisses dans une poêle pendant 5 minutes à feux vif. Placez-les ensuite dans un plat de cuisson et enfournez sur la seconde grille la plus haute. Cuisez 5 minutes.

– Servez avec un plat de légumes cuits au four et une purée de pommes de terre. Pour le vin, optez pour un cépage tannique aux arômes de terre : Bordeaux, Madiran, Pinot Noir, Malbec ou Beaujolais !

>>> Crédit photo : BKKMenu.com

Laisser un commentaire

Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *

Related

Subscribe

Recipe for a French Thanksgiving

Tired of the traditional turkey? This year, why not celebrate Thanksgiving the French way — with a duck confit! Take inspiration from the world’s most decorated chef, French culinary superstar Joël Robuchon, whose duck confit recipe is featured on the menu at his latest restaurant, L’Atelier.

[For 2 persons]

Ingredients

For duck:
2 duck legs
2 Ib (1 kg) duck fat
1⁄4 cup plus 2 tbsp (10 cl) water

For the marinade:
1 clove garlic, peeled and degermed
1 oz (30 g) coarse salt
1 stem fresh thyme
2 whole cloves
1 tsp crushed pepper

For the confit:
2 cooked duck legs
Lard
1 large stoneware crock with a cover and glazed interior

Preparation

– The night before: Rinse the thyme, place the legs on a large deep dish covered with plastic wrap enough extra to thoroughly wrap the legs in it. Rub the meat with the garlic, then with the coarse salt. Sprinkle with fresh thyme leaves, rubbing the sprig between your hands, and discard the stem. Add the cloves and the pepper, thoroughly wrap in plastic wrap, and refrigerate for 24 hours.

– The next day: In a saucepan, melt the fat over lowest possible heat, and add 1⁄4 cup plus 2 tbsp (10 cl) water. Remove the meat from the refrigerator, discard the cloves and pepper and use a brush to carefully remove all traces of salt and thyme.

– When the fat is just barely beginning to simmer, carefully lower the legs into it. Still over lowest possible heat — the cooking must be done very slowly and very gently — simmer 1 hour 40 minutes. You can check doneness by probing with a large needle: The juice that comes out should be perfectly liquid. With a skimmer or slotted spoon, remove the legs to a rack.

– To preserve the confit: While the legs rest on the rack, clarify the fat: Use a small ladle to remove any scum from the surface. Put a fine strainer over a large bowl, then carefully ladle all the fat from the upper half of the pot through the strainer and into the bowl, making sure not to take any browned bits from lower down.

– With the same ladle, put about 3⁄4 inch (2 cm) of the strained fat into the stoneware crock, then refrigerate the crock until the fat solidifies, about 10 to 15 minutes.

– When this is done, remove the crock, place the legs on the bed of fat without allowing them to touch each other or the sides (they must be completely submerged in fat all around) and cover the legs with three-quarters of the strained fat remaining in the large bowl. Cover and refrigerate. Transfer the remaining strained fat to another tightly closed container and refrigerate. After a day or two, gently reheat this remaining strained fat until it is liquid, then pour into the stoneware crock to fill any remaining pockets of air.

– Refrigerate again for at least an hour to allow the fat to solidify. When it has solidified, heat enough lard to make 1⁄3 to 3⁄4 inch (1-2 cm) layer at the top of the crock: Denser than duck fat, lard insures that the confit will be better preserved.

– Refrigerate again. When the lard has solidified, press a sheet of waxed paper onto its surface and cover the crock with its lid. Thus prepared, the legs should keep 5 to 6 months in the refrigerator.

– To pan-fry or grill the confited legs: Preheat the oven 10 minutes in advance to 400 ̊F (200 ̊C/Th.7). In a skillet or on a grill, brown the legs (5 minutes) on all sides over rather high heat. Arrange them in a baking dish so that they do not touch one another, then bake on the second highest rack for 5 minutes.

– Serve with a plate of roasted vegetables and a potato purée. As for the wine, we recommend a hearthy, tannic vintage such as Bordeaux, Madiran, Pinot Noir, Malbec, or Beaujolais!

>>> Image credit: BKKMenu.com

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Related

  • An American Thanksgiving in ParisAn American Thanksgiving in Paris American immigrants are full of ingenious ideas when it comes to perpetuating the tradition of Thanksgiving abroad. A large number of Parisians have been won over, and now also celebrate […] Posted in Gastronomy, News
  • The “Chef of the Century” Has ReturnedThe “Chef of the Century” Has Returned Five years after the closing of his famed restaurant, Joël Robuchon, the world’s most decorated chef, is returning to New York. L’Atelier, a high-end dining establishment influenced by […] Posted in Gastronomy