Je m'abonne

La révolte de la jeunesse africaine portée à l’écran

Une fois de plus, l’African Film Festival (AFF) s’est donné pour mission de faire dialoguer le continent africain et le public américain par le biais du cinéma. La vingt-quatrième édition du festival new-yorkais aura lieu du 3 au 9 mai.

Vingt-cinq films et trente-six courts métrages sur le thème de « la révolution du peuple » seront projetés cette année au Walter Reade Theater et au Francesca Beale Theater de New York. « Les jeunes sont les moteurs des évolutions de la société africaine », explique Mahen Bonetti, la directrice du festival. « Notre programmation reflète leurs attentes en termes d’origine, d’identité culturelle et de dignité. »

Cinq courts métrages et deux films en langue française seront projetés pendant les six jours du festival. Kanyekanye de Miklas Manneke transporte l’histoire d’amour impossible de Roméo et Juliette dans un village sud-africain. Le long métrage franco-tunisien de Férid Boughedir, Zizou, suit le voyage d’un jeune diplômé qui quitte son village natal pour aller chercher du travail. Le court métrage Une place pour moi de la Rwandaise Marie-Clémentine Dusabejambo suit une jeune fille albinos, victime de discrimination.

En parallèle, le Elinor Bunin Munroe Film Center, au Lincoln Center de New York, présentera le travail de l’artiste et chorégraphe zimbabwéenne Nora Chipaumire. Plusieurs évènements seront organisés : une exposition numérique sur l’influence des héros de bande dessinée sur la communauté afro-américaine — Afro Promo #1 (Kinglady) —, un film en réalité virtuelle sur la danse africaine de rue — Afripedia – Dance Battle 360​° — et un court film de danse expérimentale — Body Mechanics.

African Film Festival
Du 3 au 9 mai, 2017
Au Walter Reade Theater et au Francesca Beale Theater, New York
www.africanfilmny.org

Laisser un commentaire

Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *

Related

Subscribe

The African Youth Revolution Portrayed Through Cinema

The African Film Festival (AFF) is back again this year, aiming to create a dialogue between the African continent and American audiences through cinema. The 24th edition of the New York festival will be held from May 3 to 9, 2017.

Some 25 movies and 36 short films on the theme of “the people’s revolution” will be shown at the Walter Reade Theater and the Francesca Beale Theater in New York this year. “These young people are driving change in African society,” says Mahen Bonetti, the festival director. “Our line-up reflects their expectations in terms of origins, cultural identity and dignity.”

Five French-language short films and two French-language feature films will be shown over the six-day festival. Kanyekanye by Miklas Manneke transposes Romeo and Juliette’s story of doomed love into a South African village. The Franco-Tunisian feature film by Férid Boughedir, Sweet Smell of Spring, follows the journey of a young graduate who leaves his native village in search of work. The short film A Place for Myself by Rwandan director Marie-Clémentine Dusabejambo portrays a young albino girl struggling against discrimination.

Alongside the festival, the Elinor Bunin Munroe Film Center at the Lincoln Center in New York will be presenting the work of Zimbabwean artist and choreographer Nora Chipaumire. Several events have been organized, including a digital exhibition on the influence of comic-book heroes on the Afro-American community (Afro Promo #1 (Kinglady)), a virtual reality film about African street dancing (Afripedia – Dance Battle 360°), and a short film about experimental dance (Body Mechanics).

African Film Festival
From May 3 to 9, 2017
At the Walter Reade Theater and the Francesca Beale Theater, New York
www.africanfilmny.org

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Related