Je m'abonne

Les Américains au festival de Cannes

Au festival de Cannes, l’Amérique a toujours été en haut des marches. La soixante-dixième édition du festival, qui s’ouvrira mercredi 17 mai, ne fait pas exception. Jessica Chastain et Will Smith seront membres du jury pour la Palme d’or, l’actrice Uma Thurman présidera le jury pour la catégorie Un certain regard et dix films américains seront projetés pendant les deux semaines du festival.

Noah Baumbach / The Meyerowitz Stories / En compétition pour la Palme d’or

Reconnu pour Les Berkman se séparent (2005), Greenberg (2010) et Frances Ha (2012), le réalisateur américain présentera à Cannes un drame familial sur les retrouvailles d’une famille dysfonctionnelle. Ce film distribué par Netflix marque l’arrivée du géant du streaming sur le tapis rouge, mais ne sera jamais diffusé en salles.

John Cameron Mitchell / How to Talk to Girls at Parties / Hors compétition

Nicole Kidman et Elle Fanning, respectivement à l’affiche de quatre et deux films présentés à Cannes, incarnent deux jeunes femmes extra-terrestres en goguette dans le Londres punk des années 1970. John Cameron Mitchell adapte la nouvelle à succès de l’auteur de science fiction Neil Gaiman et entraîne les spectateurs dans un univers singulier.

Jessica Chastain / membre du jury

L’actrice californienne figurait en 2012 sur la liste des cent personnes les plus influentes au monde compilée par le magazine Time. Nominée aux Oscars pour ses rôles dans The Help (2011) et Zero Dark Thirty (2012) et régulièrement invitée au festival du cinéma américain de Deauville, elle fera partie du jury que préside cette année Pedro Almodóvar.

Bonni Cohen & Jon Shenk / An Inconvenient Sequel: Truth to Power / Projection spéciale

Quel avenir pour le mouvement environnementaliste dans l’Amérique de Donald Trump ? Dans cette suite « fascinante et passionnante » du documentaire Une vérité qui dérange (2006), le couple de cinéastes américains suit la campagne du politicien activiste Al Gore pour endiguer le réchauffement climatique.

Sofia Coppola / The Beguiled (Les proies) / En compétition pour la Palme d’or

Après The Virgin Suicides (1998), Somewhere (2010) et The Bling Ring (2013), la réalisatrice américaine renoue avec son sujet de prédilection : l’adolescence. Adapté du livre de Thomas Cullinan, ce long métrage immerge le public dans le sud des Etats-Unis où, en pleine guerre de Sécession, un soldat nordiste blessé trouve refuge dans une école de jeunes filles. Entre animosité et tension sexuelle, Nicole Kidman, Kirsten Dunst, Elle Fanning et Colin Farrell crèvent l’écran.

Todd Haynes / Wonderstruck / En compétition pour la Palme d’or

Adapté du roman graphique de Brian Selznick, ce film mêle deux histoires : celle de Rose, jeune fugueuse sourde et muette en quête de son idole à New York, et celle de Ben, un jeune orphelin, lui aussi malentendant, à la recherche de son père. Todd Haynes retrouve l’une de ses actrices fétiches, Julianne Moore, qui apparaissait déjà dans Safe (1995) et dans Loin du Paradis (2002).

Eugene Jarecki / Promised Land / Projection spéciale

Lauréat du grand prix du jury au festival de Sundance pour ses films Why We Fight (2005) et The House I Live In (2012), le documentariste engagé traverse les Etats-Unis dans la Rolls Royce d’Elvis Presley à la veille de l’élection présidentielles américaine de 2016. Une réflexion musicale sur le rêve américain.

David Lynch / Twin Peaks / Projection anniversaire

La projection que les fans de Laura Palmer attendent depuis 1990. La chaîne américaine Showtime projettera en avant-première les deux premiers épisodes de la suite de la série Twin Peaks de David Lynch. Monica Bellucci, maîtresse de cérémonie du festival, rejoint le casting aux côtés de Sheryl Lee et de Kyle MacLachlan.

Ben & Joshua Safdie / Good Time / En compétition pour la Palme d’or

En 2008, les deux frères se faisaient remarquer lors de la Quinzaine des Réalisateurs avec The Pleasure of Being Robbed, film ultra-réaliste tourné pour deux sous dans les rues de New York. Leur dernier film, Good Time, suit le périple d’un petit truand (Robert Pattinson) qui fait l’impossible pour sortir son frère de prison suite à braquage raté.

Taylor Sheridan / Wind River / En compétition dans la catégorie Un certain regard

L’acteur révélé par la série Sons of Anarchy passe derrière la caméra. Pour son premier long métrage, Taylor Sheridan emmène les festivaliers dans les étendues enneigées du Wyoming, où un garde-chasse chevronné et un jeune agent du FBI enquêtent sur un meurtre commis dans une réserve indienne. Un thriller glacial.

Will Smith / membre du jury

De ses débuts dans la série Le Prince de Bel-Air à ses nominations aux Oscars pour Ali (2001) et A la recherche du bonheur (2006) en passant par son rôle culte dans la franchise Men in Black, Will Smith a marqué deux décennies de spectateurs. A Cannes, l’acteur sera assis à la table du jury aux côtés de sa compatriote Jessica Chastain et de Pedro Almodóvar.

Kristen Stewart / Come Swim / Projection anniversaire

Dans ce court métrage expérimental, la plus française des actrices américaines entraîne les spectateurs en voyage dans l’imagination d’un homme au bord du désespoir. La chanteuse pop St. Vincent signe la bande originale de ce film remarqué lors de sa projection au festival de Sundance.

Uma Thurman / présidente du jury Un certain regard

Pour beaucoup de cinéphiles, l’actrice restera associée à l’image d’une junkie fan de Chuck Berry (Pulp Fiction) ou un samouraï en lycra jaune (Kill Bill). Membre du jury en 2011, elle revient à Cannes cette année comme présidente du jury Un certain regard. Seize films seront en compétition dans cette catégorie, dont L’atelier de Laurent Cantet, Before We Vanish de Kiyoshi Kurosawa et April’s Daughter de Michel Franco.

  • Please pick up your BOS especially one Marine.
    Give them to Will Smith.
    That is why you are coming to France sweetie .

  • Laisser un commentaire

    Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *

    Related

Subscribe

The Americans at the Cannes Film Festival

Americans have always been stars of the red carpet in Cannes. The festival’s 70th edition kicks off on Wednesday, May 17, and is no exception. Jessica Chastain and Will Smith will be members of the Palme d’or jury, Uma Thurman will be president of the Un Certain Regard jury, and ten American movies will be screened over the two-week festival.

Noah Baumbach / “The Meyerowitz Stories” / Competing for the Palme d’or

The American director was acclaimed for The Squid and the Whale (2005), Greenberg (2010) and Frances Ha (2012), and this year will be presenting a drama about the reunion of a dysfunctional family. The movie is distributed by Netflix, heralding the streaming giant’s first time at the festival, but will never be screened in theaters.

John Cameron Mitchell / “How to Talk to Girls at Parties” / Out of competition

Nicole Kidman and Elle Fanning are respectively starring in four and two films presented at Cannes this year, including this one in which they play two young alien women visiting in London’s 1970s punk era. John Cameron Mitchell has adapted Neil Gaiman’s successful science-fiction short story, taking audiences into a quite singular universe.

Jessica Chastain / Member of the jury

The Californian actress was featured in Time magazine’s World’s 100 Most Influential People list in 2012. She was nominated at the Oscars for her role in The Help (2011) and Zero Dark Thirty (2012), and is a regular guest at the Deauville American Film Festival. This year she will be a member of the jury presided by Pedro Almodóvar.

Bonni Cohen & Jon Shenk / “An Inconvenient Sequel: Truth to Power” / Special screening

What does the future hold for the environmental movement in Donald Trump’s America? In this “fascinating and exciting” sequel to the documentary An Inconvenient Truth (2006), the U.S. filmmaking couple follow politician and activist Al Gore as he campaigns to fight climate change.

Sofia Coppola / “The Beguiled” / Competing for the Palme d’or

After The Virgin Suicides (1998), Somewhere (2010) and The Bling Ring (2013), the U.S. director has returned to her favorite theme: adolescence. Her feature film adapted from Thomas Cullinan’s novel immerses viewers in the American South, where a Union soldier injured in the Civil War finds refuge in a school for young girls. Interplaying animosity and sexual tension, Nicole Kidman, Kirsten Dunst, Elle Fanning and Colin Farrell take the screen by storm.

Todd Haynes / “Wonderstruck” / Competing for the Palme d’or

Adapted from the graphic novel by Brian Selznick, this movie tells two stories, following Rose, a young deaf-mute runaway looking for her idol in New York, and Ben a young deaf orphan searching for his father. Todd Haynes directs one of his go-to actresses, Julianne Moore, who previously starred in Safe (1995) and Far from Heaven (2002).

Eugene Jarecki / “Promised Land” / Special screening

Winner of the Grand Jury Prize at the Sundance Film Festival for his films Why We Fight (2005) and The House I Live In (2012), the documentary-maker and activist drives across the United States in Elvis Presley’s Rolls Royce on the eve of the 2016 presidential election. A musical reflection on the American Dream.

David Lynch / “Twin Peaks” / Anniversary screening

The screening that fans of Laura Palmer have been waiting for since 1990. The American television channel Showtime will be hosting a preview showing of first two episodes of the next installment in the Twin Peaks series by David Lynch. Monica Bellucci, the mistress of ceremonies for this year’s festival, stars alongside Sheryl Lee and Kyle MacLachlan.

Ben & Joshua Safdie / “Good Time” / Competing for the Palme d’or

The two brothers made a splash at the 2008 Directors’ Fortnight with The Pleasure of Being Robbed, an ultra-realistic movie filmed for next to nothing on the streets of New York. Their latest work, Good Time, follows a small-time crook (Robert Pattinson) who will stop at nothing to get his brother out of prison after a botched armed robbery.

Taylor Sheridan / “Wind River” / Competing in the Un Certain Regard category

The actor who shot to fame in the series Sons of Anarchy is getting behind the camera. For his first feature film, Taylor Sheridan takes Cannes’ audiences across the snowy wilderness of Wyoming, where a veteran game tracker and a young FBI agent investigate a murder committed on a Native American reservation. An ice-cold thriller.

Will Smith / Member of the jury

From his first steps in the series The Fresh Prince of Bel-Air to his Oscar nominations for Ali (2001) and The Pursuit of Happiness (2006), without forgetting his iconic role in the Men in Black franchise, Will Smith has helped defined two decades of film and television. At this year’s festival, the actor will be sat at the jury table alongside fellow-American Jessica Chastain, and jury president Pedro Almodóvar.

Kristen Stewart / “Come Swim” / Anniversary screening

The “Frenchest” American actress takes audiences on a journey through the imagination of a man on the brink of despair in this experimental short film. Pop singer St. Vincent wrote the score, and the movie already got people talking at its screening at the Sundance Film Festival.

Uma Thurman / President of the Un Certain Regard jury 

Uma Thurman will always be a Chuck Berry-loving junkie (Pulp Fiction) or a yellow spandex-clad samurai (Kill Bill) for many film buffs. The actress was a member of the jury in 2011, and this year is returning as president of the Un Certain Regard jury. Some 16 films will be competing in this category, including Laurent Cantet’s The Workshop, Kiyoshi Kurosawa’s Before We Vanish, and Michel Franco’s April’s Daughter.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Related