Subscribe

The Hello Girls, the Voice of the U.S. Army in France

The first women recruited by the U.S. Army were equipped with helmets and gasmasks just like their male counterparts, but they were armed with telephones. Some 223 French-speaking American women served as switchboard operators during World War I. Nicknamed the “Hello Girls,” they acted as a link between the front line and the rear guard and between French and American units. A musical comedy will be paying homage to them at 59E59 Theaters in New York from November 13 through December 22.

The memories of the Battle of Château-Thierry in July 1918 include the men from the 3rd U.S. Infantry Division courageously holding the Marne River and their victory against German troops 50 miles from Paris. But few remember the switchboard operators who passed on their messages. During the fighting, one such operator received a call for help from a group of U.S. soldiers trapped under fire from the Germans. She connected the call to a battery of French artillery who came to the rescue and less than two minutes later.

The telephone had only recently been invented when the United States declared war on the German Empire on April 6, 1918. And yet it was the leading means of communication on the battlefield. The telegraph could not carry voices and the first radio transmitters were too bulky. The field telephone did not need a battery and could be plugged in anywhere. Between its headquarters in Chaumont and the 8,000 receivers located on the front, the U.S. Army laid down more than 22,600 miles of telephone cables.

american-officer-telephone-saint-st-mihiel-1918

An American officer on the phone during the Battle of Saint-Mihiel in September 1918. © National Archives

The armed forces needed switchboard operators in the field for connecting calls. But General Pershing, head of the American Expeditionary Forces in Europe, refused to employ French people. Very few of them spoke English, and connecting a call took almost a whole minute compared with 12 second for an experienced American operator. The monolingual French operators and male U.S. soldiers were “hopelessly inadequate,” wrote Pershing in a telegram to Washington. On November 8, 1917, he asked for a unit of French-speaking American operators to be recruited and trained in the United States before being sent to France.

“Perfectly Bilingual” Recruits

More than 7,600 women volunteered. Candidates had to be between 23 and 33, be “perfectly fit,” and “perfectly bilingual.” French tests were also obligatory, and operators had to simultaneously interpret a fictional conversation between an American officer and his French counterpart. A first group was selected and included Grace Banker, who had studied French and history at Barnard College and worked at the headquarters of the American Telephone & Telegraph Company (AT&T) in New York. Louise LeBreton was a student at Berkeley and worked part-time as a secretary at the French Consulate in San Francisco. Madeleine Batta was born in Belgium and had a Master’s degree in mathematics. Anita Brown was a French teacher in Los Angeles. And Chicago-born Helen Orb had studied sculpture at the Beaux-Arts school in Paris before the war.

The press compared the U.S. Army’s first female recruits to Joan of Arc, fearlessly leaving to fight and save France. Propaganda posters depicted them in the style of the Statue of Liberty holding a telephone set instead of the Declaration of Independence. But the Army was not ready to welcome women into its ranks. Certain members of the Department of War believed enrolling female soldiers was contrary to nature. As a result, the operators were housed away from the military bases and obliged to buy their own uniforms.

hello-this-is-liberty-speaking

Propaganda poster, Z. P. Nikolaki,1918. © Metropolitan Museum, New York 

After a month of training, the first contingent of operators left the port of Hoboken in New Jersey on March 2, 1918. Some 7,000 doughboys travelled with them aboard the Celtic, a British cruise liner converted to be able to transport troops. The ship stopped in Halifax in Canada, before setting sail west to Southampton and finally arriving in Le Havre.

36,000 Calls Daily

The Hello Girls were posted to Paris, at the headquarters of the American forces in Chaumont, or on the front. “Some operators were so close to the fighting they could hear the cannon fire in their headsets,” writes U.S. historian Elizabeth Cobbs in The Hello Girls: America’s First Women Soldiers (Harvard University Press, 2017). With the arrival of “experienced personnel,” the number of calls connected every day went from 13,000 in January 1918 to 36,000 in July of the same year.

The operators proved their skills at the Battle of Cantigny from May 28 to 31, 1918, which was the first American offensive in Europe. This was followed by the Battle of Château-Thierry, the Battle of Saint-Mihiel, and the Meuse-Argonne Offensive in October 1918. The operators monitored the progress of the fighting, working in 12-hour shifts on the switchboard. The towns, villages, and localities all had codenames such as Montana, Buster, Bonehead, Wabash, and Wilson. The frequency of the calls, followed by lines that rang unanswered, were the only indications of how the battles were going.

hello-girls-standard-saint-mihiel-1918

Three Hello Girls at work during the Battle of Saint-Mihiel in September 1918. © National Archives 

Pershing demanded 130 extra operators in September 1918, then 40 more every 6 weeks throughout 1919. And the news that the war had ended arrived via telephone: Austria surrendered on October 28, followed by Germany on November 11. The fighting was over but the Hello Girls remained in Europe, helping in the effort to repatriate U.S. soldiers and occupy Germany, and to organize the Paris Peace Conference. The last operators left France in January 1920.

A Bitter Welcome Home

Seven months later on August 26, 1920, women in America were given the right to vote. Around the same time, the operators learned the U.S. Army was refusing to pay them the pensions they deserved, judging that the Hello Girls served as civilian employees and therefore did not qualify for veteran status. Grace Banker received the Distinguished Service Medal, the highest award attributed by the armed forces, but this changed nothing. A law recognizing the service of women veterans was brought before Congress 24 times between 1927 and 1977, and the Department of War opposed every draft. “Recruiting women was one thing,” writes Elizabeth Cobb. “Recognizing their service was another.”

The Hello Girls were finally granted veteran status in 1978. Only 31 operators were still alive at the time. Merle Egan, originally from Helena, Montana, received her official discharge certificate at the age of 91. Speaking to the journalists who attended the ceremony, she simply said “The army has finally admitted we are legitimate.”


The Hello Girls

From Novembre 13 through December 22, 2018
59E59 Theatres

59 East 59th Street
New York, NY 10022
www.59e59.org

  • J’ai cherché en vain sur le net pour la liste de ces femmes. Il y avait assurément beaucoup de Canadiennes dans ce groupe puisque l’immigration provenant du Québec était très importante à cette époque. La courte liste suivante montre bien que les noms de famille sont bien québécois.
    http://loucraft.blogspot.com/2017/03/the-hello-girls-switchboard-soldiers.html

    Apparemment, le livre de Madame Elizabeth Cobbs contiendrait la liste de ces femmes.

  • Merci Clément Thiery pour cet excellent article qui nous fait découvrir ces femmes vétérans de la Première Guerre mondiale, restées inconnues jusqu’en 1978.

  • Leave a Reply

    Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

    Related

    • Sergeant York Gets His Very Own Comic BookSergeant York Gets His Very Own Comic Book An avenue in Manhattan bears his name, but who really remembers Sergeant York, the most decorated U.S. soldier of World War I? He proved his mettle in France during the Meuse-Argonne […] Posted in Culture, History
    • Versailles’ American SplendorVersailles’ American Splendor The Château de Versailles is a symbol of French excellence in the arts, emblematic of absolute power and the height of the monarchy’s reign. But it actually owes part of its current […] Posted in Culture, History

The Hello Girls, the Voice of the U.S. Army in France

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on pinterest
Share on whatsapp
Share on email

Les premières femmes recrutées par l’armée américaine étaient équipées d’un casque et d’un masque à gaz, comme les hommes, mais le téléphone était leur arme principale. Quelque 223 Américaines francophones servirent comme opératrices téléphoniques pendant la Première Guerre mondiale. Surnommées les « Hello Girls », elles assuraient le relais entre le front et l’arrière, entre les unités américaines et les unités françaises. Une comédie musicale leur rendra hommage au 59E59 Theatre de New York du 13 novembre au 22 décembre.

De la bataille de Château-Thierry, en juillet 1918, on se souvient des hommes de la Troisième Division d’Infanterie américaine, de leur résistance sur la Marne et de leur victoire face aux troupes allemandes à 80 kilomètres de Paris. Mais on oublie les opératrices qui relayèrent leurs messages. Au cours de l’affrontement, une de ces téléphonistes reçut l’appel au secours d’un groupe de soldats américains pris au piège par l’artillerie allemande. Elle connecta l’appel à une batterie de canons français qui répliqua moins de deux minutes après.

Lorsque les Etats-Unis déclarent la guerre à l’empire allemand, le 6 avril 1917, le téléphone est une invention récente. C’est pourtant le premier instrument de communication sur le champ de bataille : le télégraphe ne transmet pas la voix et les premiers émetteurs radio sont trop encombrants. Le téléphone de campagne, qui n’a pas besoin de batterie, peut être branché n’importe où. Entre son quartier général à Chaumont et quelque 8 000 récepteurs sur la ligne de front, l’armée américaine en France installera plus de 36 500 kilomètres de fil téléphonique.

american-officer-telephone-saint-st-mihiel-1918

Un officier américain au téléphone pendant la bataille de Saint-Mihiel en septembre 1918. © National Archives

Pour connecter les appels, l’armée a besoin de standardistes sur le terrain. Mais le général Pershing, responsable du corps expéditionnaire américain en Europe, refuse d’employer des Français : très peu parlent anglais et connecter un appel leur prend presque une minute. Contre douze secondes pour une téléphoniste américaine expérimentée. Les opérateurs français et les soldats américains monolingues sont « désespérément inadaptés », écrit Pershing dans un télégramme envoyé à Washington. Le 8 novembre 1917, il exige qu’une unité d’opératrices francophones soit recrutée aux Etats-Unis, entraînée et envoyée en France.

Des recrues « parfaitement bilingues »

Plus de 7 600 femmes se portèrent volontaires. Les candidates doivent avoir entre 23 et 33 ans, être « en pleine forme » et « parfaitement bilingues ». Le test de français est rédhibitoire. Les opératrices doivent traduire simultanément une conversation fictive entre un officier américain et son homologue français. Un premier groupe est retenu : Grace Banker a étudié le français et l’histoire à Barnard College et travaille au siège de l’American Telephone & Telegraph Company (AT&T) à New York ; Louise LeBreton est étudiante à Berkeley et travaille à mi-temps comme secrétaire au consulat de France à San Francisco ; Madeleine Batta est née en Belgique et possède un master de mathématiques ; Anita Brown est professeur de français à Los Angeles ; Helen Orb, originaire de Chicago, a étudié la sculpture aux Beaux-Arts à Paris avant la guerre.

Dans la presse, les premières recrues féminines de l’U.S. Army sont comparées à Jeanne d’Arc : elles n’ont pas peur d’aller se battre et veulent sauver la France. Les affiches de propagande les peignent sous les traits de la Statue de la Liberté, un combiné téléphonique à la place de la Déclaration d’Indépendance. Mais l’armée n’est pas prête à accueillir des femmes dans ses rangs. Certains membres du Département de la Guerre pensent que les femmes soldats sont contre nature. Les opératrices sont logées à l’extérieur de bases militaires et sont tenues d’acheter leur propre uniforme.

hello-this-is-liberty-speaking

Affiche de propagande, Z. P. Nikolaki,1918. © Metropolitan Museum, New York

Après un mois d’entraînement, le premier contingent de téléphonistes quitte le port d’Hoboken dans le New Jersey le 2 mars 1918. Sept mille doughboys les accompagnent à bord du Celtic, un paquebot britannique converti en transport de troupes. Le navire fait escale à Halifax, au Canada, avant de mettre le cap à l’ouest vers Southampton puis Le Havre.

36 000 appels par jour

Les « Hello Girls » s’installent en France : à Paris, au quartier général des forces américaines à Chaumont ou sur la ligne de front. « Certaines opératrices étaient si proches des combats qu’elles pouvaient entendre le tonnerre des canons dans leurs écouteurs », écrit l’historienne américaine Elizabeth Cobbs dans The Hello Girls: America’s First Women Soldiers (Harvard University Press, 2017). Avec l’arrivée de « personnel expérimenté », le volume d’appels traités quotidiennement passe de 13 000 en janvier 1918 à 36 000 en juillet.

Les téléphonistes prouvèrent leur efficacité lors de la bataille de Cantigny du 28 au 31 mai 1918, qui marque la première offensive américaine en Europe. Puis lors de la bataille de Château-Thierry, la bataille de Saint-Mihiel et l’offensive Meuse-Argonne en octobre 1918. Se relayant au standard toutes les douze heures, les opératrices américaines suivent en aveugle l’avancée des combats. Les villes, les villages et les lieux-dits sont codés : on appelle Montana, Buster, Bonehead, Wabash ou Wilson. Seule la fréquence des appels, puis les lignes qui sonnent dans le vide, renseigne sur la direction de la bataille.

hello-girls-standard-saint-mihiel-1918

Trois “Hello Girls” au travail pendant la bataille de Saint-Mihiel en septembre 1918. © National Archives

En septembre 1918, Pershing réclame 130 opératrices supplémentaires, puis 40 toutes les six semaines pendant l’année 1919. Mais la nouvelle de la reddition arrive par téléphone : l’Autriche capitule le 28 octobre, l’Allemagne le 11 novembre. Les combats cessent, mais les « Hello Girls » restent en Europe. Elles participent au rapatriement des soldats américains, à l’occupation de l’Allemagne et à la conférence de paix à Versailles. Les dernières opératrices quitteront la France en janvier 1920.

Amer retour

Sept mois plus tard, le 26 août 1920, les Américaines obtiennent le droit de vote. A la même période, les anciennes téléphonistes apprennent que l’armée refuse de leur verser la pension qu’elles méritent. Selon l’U.S. Army, les « Hello Girls » ont servi en qualité d’employées civiles et à ce titre, n’ont pas droit au statut de vétéran. Grace Banker reçut la Distinguished Service Medal, la plus haute distinction conférée par l’armée américaine, mais rien n’y fit. A vingt-quatre reprises entre 1927 et 1977, on propose devant le Congrès une loi qui reconnaîtrait le service des femmes vétérans. Le Département de la Guerre s’oppose à chaque proposition. « Recruter des femmes était une chose », écrit Elizabeth Cobb. « Reconnaître leur service en était une autre. »

Le statut de vétéran fut accordé aux « Hello Girls » en 1978. Seule trente-et-une opératrices étaient encore en vie. Merle Egan, originaire d’Helena dans le Montana, reçut son certificat officiel de démobilisation à l’âge de 91 ans. Aux journalistes qui assistaient à la cérémonie, elle déclara simplement : « L’armée a enfin reconnu notre légitimité ».


The Hello Girls

Du 13 novembre au 22 décembre 2018
59E59 Theatres

59 East 59th Street
New York, NY 10022
www.59e59.org[:]

couv-cover-france-amerique-magazine-septembre-september-2022-pop-up

The best of French culture

Published in a bilingual format, France-Amérique Magazine is intended for anyone interested in French culture and Franco-American friendship.

Already a subscriber?