Je m'abonne

Avis aux entrepreneurs américains : « Come to France, we love you ! »

De passage à New York à l’occasion de la French Touch Conference, le secrétaire d’Etat au numérique Mounir Mahjoubi a renouvelé l’appel d’Emmanuel Macron aux entrepreneurs américains : « Venez en France, nous sommes prêts à vous accueillir ».

C’est une tradition. Depuis la création de l’événement en 2014, les secrétaires d’Etat en charge de l’économie numérique participent à la French Touch Conference, deux jours d’échanges à New York sur le thème des nouvelles technologies et de la coopération franco-américaine. En 2016, Axelle Lemaire avait gentiment salué « un échange réciproque entre nos deux pays ». Cette année, devant une audience composée à 45% d’Américains, Mounir Mahjoubi est allé plus loin.

« Rejoignez-nous en France », a lancé en anglais le secrétaire d’Etat nommé en mai dernier par Emmanuel Macron. « La France est une terre d’innovation où nous avons réuni toutes les conditions nécessaires à votre succès. » Les Américains voient généralement la France comme un pays hostile aux petites entreprises, un pays où les impôts sont élevés et dirigés contre les investisseurs. Les Français n’ont pas de mot pour « entrepreneur », aurait ironisé George W. Bush.

Pour changer cette perception, le nouveau gouvernement planchera sur trois points. Le régime fiscal français, « complexe », « instable » et « modifié tous les cinq ans », a précisé Mounir Mahjoubi, sera revu pour plus de clarté et de transparence. Les lois et réglementations portant sur l’innovation et la recherche seront amendées pour offrir davantage de liberté aux entreprises. La culture entrepreneuriale française, enfin, doit évoluer de manière à intégrer le « droit à l’erreur ». « Le gouvernement ne doit pas être là pour sanctionner les entreprises », a déclaré Mounir Mahjoubi, « mais pour les accompagner ».

Les déclarations du secrétaire d’Etat coïncident avec l’inauguration ce jeudi de la Station F, « le plus grand incubateur de start-up au monde », aménagé dans un ancien bâtiment ferroviaire du XIIIe arrondissement de Paris. L’espace, qui compte déjà Facebook, Apple et Microsoft parmi ses locataires, compte accueillir près de mille entreprises en phase de développement. Par ailleurs, Emmanuel Macron a récemment annoncé la création d’un fonds de dix milliards d’euros de soutien à l’innovation et la mise en ligne du French Tech Visa, un programme de visas et de bourses à destination des entrepreneurs étrangers.

Daví DeShaun Davis a hésité entre San Francisco, Londres et Berlin avant de choisir Paris pour développer sa société. Le musicien et entrepreneur new-yorkais est à l’origine de ClefPay, une plateforme qui utilise la technologie blockchain pour « simplifier le versement des royalties » et « faciliter les transactions entre consommateurs, artistes et autres entités impliquées dans l’industrie musicale ». Le prototype a remporté une compétition de start-up organisée par IBM en octobre dernier et intéresse plusieurs investisseurs dont une grande banque anglaise. Avec le soutien de Business France, l’agence gouvernementale qui guide les PME françaises à l’étranger, Daví DeShaun Davis compte maintenant porter son projet à Paris. Il compte sur un premier séjour de trois mois, cet été, pour décrocher une place dans un incubateur parisien et entrer en relation avec des investisseurs français.

« La France est à la recherche de projets innovants et audacieux », explique le jeune entrepreneur, visiblement inspiré par l’invitation du président de la République. « Je ne vois aucun autre chef d’Etat, aux Etats-Unis ou ailleurs dans le monde, aussi engagé qu’Emmanuel Macron en faveur des nouvelles technologies. »

Laisser un commentaire

Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *

Related

Subscribe

A Message to American Entrepreneurs: “Come to France, We Love you!”

While on a trip to New York for the French Touch Conference, the French Secretary of State for Digital Affairs, Mounir Mahjoubi, reiterated Emmanuel Macron’s message to American entrepreneurs: “Come to France, you have a home here.”

It’s become something of a tradition; the French Secretary of State for Digital Affairs has attended the French Touch Conference every year since it was founded in 2014. The event in New York offers two-days of exchange and dialogue on the theme of new technologies and Franco-American cooperation. Axelle Lemaire magnanimously applauded a “reciprocal exchange between our two countries” in 2016. But this year, standing before an audience comprised of 45% of Americans, Mounir Mahjoubi went one step further.

“Join us in France,” said the Secretary of State, who was appointed by Emmanuel Macron in May. “France is a land of innovation, where we have created all the conditions you need to succeed.” The Americans generally view France as a country that treats small businesses unfavorably; a country where taxes are high, and investors pay the price. As George W. Bush reportedly once joked, “The French don’t even have a word for ‘entrepreneur.’”

In an effort to change perceptions, the new French government has focused on three key points. According to Mounir Mahjoubi, the current tax system is “complicated,” “unstable,” and “changed every five years.” The system will therefore be reviewed to make it more accessible and more transparent. Laws and regulations governing innovation and research will also be amended to offer businesses more freedom. Lastly, French business culture will change in order to “allow for mistakes,” an aspect which is currently not tolerated. “The government is not there to sanction companies,” said Mounir Mahjoubi. “It is there to help them do better.”

The statements by the Secretary of State coincided with this Thursday’s inauguration of Station F, the “world’s largest start-up incubator” developed in a former railway building in the 13th arrondissement of Paris. The space already leases to Facebook, Apple and Microsoft, and hopes to welcome almost 1,000 fledgling businesses. Emmanuel Macron also recently announced the creation of a ten-billion-euro fund to support innovation and the introduction of the French Tech Visa, a visa and financing program aimed at international entrepreneurs.

Daví DeShaun Davis was deciding whether to move to San Francisco, London or Berlin, before choosing Paris as the place to develop his company. The New York-based musician and entrepreneur is the founder of ClefPay, a platform that uses blockchain technology to “simplify the payment of royalties” and “facilitate transactions between consumers, artists and other entities in the music industry.” The prototype won a start-up competition organized by IBM last October, and has caught the attention of several investors, including a major English bank. With the support of Business France — the government agency that guides small- and medium-sized companies abroad — Daví DeShaun Davis now hopes to bring his project to Paris. The first phase includes a three-month stay in the French capital this summer to earn a place in a start-up incubator and meet with French investors.

“France is looking for bold, innovative projects,” said the young businessman, who has clearly been inspired by the French president’s invitation. “I haven’t seen any other head of state, in the United States or elsewhere, as committed to new technologies as Emmanuel Macron.”

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Related

  • Applications Are Open for the FAEA AwardApplications Are Open for the FAEA Award Young entrepreneurs, this is for you! You have until March 24 to apply for the French-American Entrepreneurship Award, an annual startup competition recognizing French entrepreneurs […] Posted in News
  • Macron-Apple, a Meeting of LeadersMacron-Apple, a Meeting of Leaders The French president met with the CEO of Apple in Paris on October 6. Should we see this as a business meeting, or an encounter between two heads of state? French journalist Jean-Jacques […] Posted in Opinion