Je m'abonne

La Terre promise

Devenu citoyen américain il y a un an, après dix ans de démarches, me voici parvenu à l’étape ultime : célébrer Thanksgiving. Ne pas célébrer le quatrième jeudi de novembre serait ne pas être tout à fait américain, voire être clairement anti-américain.

Mieux qu’une carte verte, un passeport et le droit de voter, n’est-ce pas Thanksgiving qui consacre véritablement l’intégration dans la nation ? En termes culturels et spirituels, certainement oui. La preuve en est que c’est la seule fête, respectée par tous quelle que soit sa langue, sa culture ou sa religion. C’est le seul jour de l’année où la nation américaine met de côté ses différends et cesse d’être divisée. Autour d’un repas qui commence étrangement en milieu d’après-midi — so strange pour un Français habitué à passer à table dans la nuit —, nous ne sommes plus que des Américains et rien d’autre. On rêverait pour la France d’une célébration équivalente, où l’on se satisferait de n’être que français, sans haine ni préjugé envers quiconque. Mais pas de Thanksgiving ni de « Merci Donnant » en France.

Que célèbre-t-on au juste aux Etats-Unis ? Ce qui fut à l’origine une action de grâce religieuse, évangélique, tournée vers Dieu aux dépens des dindes d’Amérique du Nord, est devenu avec les siècles une célébration athée, mais demeure un peu spirituelle tout de même. Chacun, selon ses croyances, remercie son Dieu, ses parents ou ses voisins pour le privilège d’être américain. Le jour de Thanksgiving, les Etats-Unis sont implicitement perçus comme la Terre Promise — ce qu’ils devinrent pour les pèlerins, chassés de leur pays pour leurs convictions religieuses. La plupart des Américains ont oublié ou n’ont jamais connu les origines bibliques de la terre d’accueil qu’ils célèbrent, mais par cette célébration même, ils reconnaissent que l’Amérique est « exceptionnelle ».

Pour ceux qui ne se résolvent pas à massacrer les dindes, on sait qu’il en existe maintenant tout en soja, pour les végétariens. C’est tout aussi symbolique et tout aussi américain.

  • Guy, thank you once again for your insight into an American tradition! Our best wishes to you and Marie-Dominique, Gordon and Susanne

  • Pourquoi ne pas parler de l’Action de grâce ? Il n’y a tout de même pas de mal à dire les choses en français, même s’il s’agit de réalités nord-américaines.

    • Le terme « Action de grâce » est généralement associé au « Canadian Thanksgiving », qui est fêté le second lundi d’octobre. Pour ne pas confondre les deux évènements, nous avons préféré utiliser le terme américain : « Thanksgiving ».

  • Assez d’accord avec le point de vue sur l’intégration liée à la célébration, cependant l’auteur semble oublier que les Native Americans ont aidé les Piligrims, et que les vagues d’émigrants suivants les ont assassinés.

  • Related

Subscribe
piaf-the-show-ad-anne-carrere-edith-carnegie-hall-new-york

In the Promised Land

Having become an American citizen a year ago, after ten years of administrative procedures, I find myself confronted with the final step: celebrating Thanksgiving. Failing to honor the fourth Thursday of November would not be very American, or even entirely un-American.

Forget the green cards, the passports and the right to vote. Surely Thanksgiving is the one, true consecration of integration into the United States? It certainly is in cultural and spiritual terms. The fact that Thanksgiving is the only celebration respected by all, regardless of language, culture and religion, serves as ample proof. It is the only day of the year when the American nation puts its differences aside, and comes together. Gathered around the table for a meal that begins in the mid-afternoon — quite peculiar for a Frenchman accustomed to eating in the evening — we are all Americans, and nothing more. If only there were an equivalent celebration in France, during which we would content ourselves with simply being French, without hatred or prejudice for anyone. But there is no Thanksgiving, nor even its literal translation of Merci Donnant, in France.

What exactly are we celebrating on Thanksgiving in the United States? What was once a gesture of religious, evangelical thanks to God – to the detriment of turkeys across North America — has, over the centuries, become an atheist celebration, albeit one that remains spiritual even today. According to different beliefs, each person thanks their God, their parents or their neighbors for the privilege of being American. On Thanksgiving, the United States is implicitly seen as the Promised Land — which it indeed became for pilgrims driven from their countries for their religious convictions. Most Americans have forgotten, or were never aware of, the biblical origins of the safe haven they now honor, but through this very celebration they recognize that America is “exceptional”.

And for those who are against the massacre of turkeys, there are now alternatives made using soy protein for vegetarians. Which is just as symbolic, and just as American.

  • Leave a Reply

    Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

    Related

    • An American Thanksgiving in ParisAn American Thanksgiving in Paris American immigrants are full of ingenious ideas when it comes to perpetuating the tradition of Thanksgiving abroad. A large number of Parisians have been won over, and now also celebrate […] Posted in Gastronomy
    • American Grocery Stores for Thanksgiving in ParisAmerican Grocery Stores for Thanksgiving in Paris France-Amérique has selected some of the best American grocery stores in the French capital, so you can prepare your special dinner as if you were back home. Happy Thanksgiving! Rachel’s […] Posted in Gastronomy