Streaming

The Age of French-American Shows

American production companies are looking for inspiration, sets, and film crews in France. To meet the growing demand from digital platforms, our two national cinema industries are trying their hands at glocalization, a new form of collaboration rooted in France’s rich cultural heritage.
Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on pinterest
Share on whatsapp
Share on email
Camille Cottin and Matt Damon in Stillwater, shot in Marseille. © Jessica Forde/Focus Features

Here we are, America! On the pop-up stage at the Casa Cipriani hotel, in Lower Manhattan, Camille Cottin, Laure Calamy, and Thibault de Montalembert linked arms and performed a brief dance. The three actors from Dix pour cent were delighted. On November 22, 2021, six years after it was first broadcast on the France 2 channel, the all-French show (renamed Call My Agent! in the United States) received an International Emmy Award for Best Comedy.

Producer Dominique Besnehard credits the style similar to the works of François Truffaut – tenderness and cruelty, panache and frivolity – and the portrayal of “a tragicomic France” for the success of this witty story about a Parisian talent agency in which real celebrities play their own roles with a hearty pinch of self-deprecation. Meanwhile, Fanny Herrero, who created the first three seasons, speaks of the effective combination of French obsessions and neuroses (“our chaotic, touching side”) with American-style production and screenwriting. The series’ four seasons (a fifth is underway) were featured on Netflix, which “enabled a local show to be watched all over the world,” adds the French producer. “Twenty remakes, including in India and Canada, have already been sold.”

The triumph of Call My Agent! flatters the pride of French cinephiles, who have a conflictual relationship with American cinema driven by a fascination for its stories and stars coupled with a mistrust of the all-powerful Hollywood machine. This latest International Emmy Award, which follows those given to Braquo (2012), The Returned (2013), and Spiral (2015), proves that French shows can offer a highly modern, Gallic take on a very American format and genre, whose success is explained by a blend of cultures and styles.

french-education-guide-france-amerique-spring-summer-2022

American Financing, French Filming

Acquired as a complete package by Netflix, Call My Agent! is just one form of partnership developing between the historically competing but increasingly compatible French and American film industries. As well as sets staffed by French-American teams using France as a backdrop and source of inspiration, shows including Emily in Paris (extended for two more seasons), and movies such as Wes Anderson’s comedy-drama The French Dispatch, filmed in Angoulême, U.S. producers are creating a new type of cooperation known as “glocalization.”

This portmanteau word combining “global” and “local” describes shared responsibilities. An international platform takes care of production and financing, but the show itself is developed and filmed locally. This has nothing to do with remakes, in which rights are purchased but the spice of the original dialogues and the charm of the initial cast are lost, resulting in a number of unsuccessful adaptations (notable examples include Just Visiting and The Upside, the unsuccessful American take on Intouchables). The new idea is to cash in on the creativity of the filming country while drawing on the wealth of its history and folklore to extract the best narratives. This is the vision of Valérie Mouroux, director of film, TV, and new media at Villa Albertine, the French Ministry of Foreign Affairs’ new cultural institution in the United States. Showcased via a global distribution network, these productions can beat all records in terms of audience numbers.

omar-sy-lupin-gaumont-netflix-paris
The show Lupin, financed by Netflix but directed by French studio Gaumont, made actor Omar Sy a truly ”glocal” star. © Jonas Unger/Vogue
dix-pour-cent-call-my-agent-international-emmy-award
The Call My Agent! team receives the International Emmy Award for Best Comedy in Manhattan, November 22, 2021.
Call My Agent! creator Fanny Herrero (center) and the cast of Standing Up, her new Netflix show. © Mika Cotellon
camille-cottin-dix-pour-cent-call-my-agent-house-of-gucci
French actress Camille Cottin, who shot to fame with Call My Agent!, recently played a part in the film House of Gucci. © MGM

Everyone stands to gain something from the new concept. By combining local culture and global impact, these shows provide American platforms – which have often harvested all possible subscribers in their native regions – with a new reservoir of viewers. With 222 million users across the world, but just 8 million in France, Netflix has hardly reached full capacity. For French creatives faced with reduced financing from national networks, this new box office offers a great opportunity. After a few hesitations about royalties and the control exerted by U.S. partners over the final version, the smartest in the profession have understood their choice: Either create productions in partnership with Netflix or Amazon, with a chance to reach a global audience if their work is a success, or settle for satisfying but dwindling numbers of moviegoers.

Omar Sy and Camille Cottin: Glocal Superstars

Marseille, a scandalous show focused on the Mediterranean port city starring Gérard Depardieu, and the first French series produced by Netflix, failed to gain the following it had hoped for, despite being wildly popular in Brazil. However, Lupin, an adaptation financed by the American streaming service but directed by French studio Gaumont, was a huge hit. In just 28 days, more than 70 million viewers delighted in the new adventures of the gentleman burglar, a very French hero, filmed in Paris and Normandy. Netflix saw an opportunity. After receiving the Rose d’Or Performance of the Year Award for his role in Lupin, actor Omar Sy signed a massive, multi-year contract with the platform and was catapulted into the position of executive producer in October 2021. The same success story has been seen with Camille Cottin, one the main characters in Call My Agent!, which has seen her give sterling performances in the all-American productions Stillwater and House of Gucci. And after being hired by Netflix, showrunner Fanny Herrero has just finished Standing Up, a series taking viewers behind the scenes of the Paris stand-up comedy world, available on the platform since March.

This marriage of convenience has not stopped tensions from arising between the two cinematic ecosystems, which are each founded on different visions: arthouse cinema for France, which tends to see itself as the sole guardian of the film world; and entertainment for America, which has recently become mired in the one-upmanship of the Marvel and DC Comics franchises.

In exchange for the free movement of their shows in Europe, Netflix, Disney+, Amazon Prime Video, and others have agreed to finance the production of French movies and shows for up to 20-25% of their revenue made in France. What’s more, Netflix has announced a budget of 45 million dollars for financing movies aimed at French theaters. All that is left to negotiate is an agreement on “media chronology,” a system of time slots that open one after the next to guarantee a period of exclusivity for each distributor. In the United States, movies can be streamed on platforms 45 days after their theater release. This contractual rule has been adopted everywhere – except in France. Netflix is required to wait for 15 months, and Disney and Amazon have to wait for 17 months! Movie buffs and fans of different shows hate these constraints, and are still hoping for a deal that will satisfy both those who enjoy going to the theater and those who prefer in-home entertainment.

 

Article published in the April 2022 issue of France-Amérique. Subscribe to the magazine.

couv-cover-france-amerique-magazine-fevrier-february-2022-pop-up

The best of French culture

Published in a bilingual format, France-Amérique Magazine is intended for anyone interested in French culture and Franco-American friendship.

Already a subscriber?

Streaming

The Age of French-American Shows

American production companies are looking for inspiration, sets, and film crews in France. To meet the growing demand from digital platforms, our two national cinema industries are trying their hands at glocalization, a new form of collaboration rooted in France’s rich cultural heritage.
Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on pinterest
Share on whatsapp
Share on email
Camille Cottin and Matt Damon in Stillwater, shot in Marseille. © Jessica Forde/Focus Features

Amérique, nous voilà ! Sur la scène improvisée de l’hôtel Casa Cipriani, dans le sud de Manhattan, Camille Cottin, Laure Calamy et Thibault de Montalembert esquissent un pas de danse, bras dessus, bras dessous. Les trois acteurs de Dix pour cent exultent. Le 22 novembre 2021, six ans après sa première diffusion sur France 2, la série 100 % française (rebaptisée Call My Agent! outre-Atlantique) recevait un International Emmy Award pour la meilleure série étrangère de l’année dans la catégorie comédie.

Pour expliquer le succès de cette histoire picaresque d’une agence de talents parisienne dans laquelle de vraies stars jouent leur propre rôle avec autodérision, le producteur Dominique Besnehard parle d’un style proche des films de François Truffaut – tendresse et cruauté, panache et frivolité – et la représentation d’« une France tragi-comique et drôle ». Fanny Herrero, créatrice des trois premières saisons, évoque quant à elle la greffe réussie des obsessions et névroses françaises, « notre côté bordélique et touchant », avec une écriture et une production à l’américaine. La diffusion des quatre saisons de la série (une cinquième est en préparation) sur Netflix « a permis à une production locale d’être regardée dans le monde entier », ajoute le producteur français. « Vingt remakes, y compris en Inde et au Canada, ont déjà été signés. »

Le triomphe de Dix pour cent flatte l’amour propre des cinéphiles français, qui entretiennent avec le cinéma américain une relation conflictuelle, faite de fascination pour ses histoires et ses stars et de méfiance vis-à-vis de la toute-puissance de la machine hollywoodienne. Ce nouvel International Emmy Award, qui s’ajoute à ceux qui ont déjà récompensé Braquo (2012), Les Revenants (2013) et Engrenages (2015), prouve que les séries tricolores peuvent apporter un point de vue français très moderne à un format et à un genre très américains dont le succès tient au mélange des cultures et des styles.

Financement américain, tournage français

Acheté tout ficelé par Netflix, Dix pour cent n’est qu’une des formes du partenariat qui se développe entre les cinémas français et américain, longtemps rivaux mais de plus en plus complémentaires. A côté des tournages, avec des équipes franco-américaines utilisant la France comme décor et source d’inspiration, de séries comme Emily in Paris (le titre a été renouvelé pour deux autres saisons) et de films comme The French Dispatch, la comédie dramatique de Wes Anderson tournée à Angoulême, les producteurs américains développent un nouveau type de coopération baptisé « glocalisation ».

Ce mot-valise combinant « global » et «local » désigne un partage des responsabilités : une plateforme internationale produit et finance, mais le programme est imaginé et filmé localement. Rien à voir avec les remakes, ces achats de droits où, sans le sel du dialogue original ni le charme du premier casting, beaucoup d’adaptations se sont enlisées (on pense aux Visiteurs en Amérique ou à Sous un autre jour, américanisation ratée d’Intouchables). L’idée nouvelle est de capitaliser sur la créativité du pays de tournage et de puiser dans la richesse de son histoire et de son folklore pour en extraire les meilleures histoires, explique Valérie Mouroux, en charge du cinéma et des séries à la Villa Albertine, la nouvelle institution culturelle du ministère français des Affaires étrangères aux Etats-Unis. Mises en valeur par une diffusion mondiale, ces productions peuvent battre tous les records de visionnage.

omar-sy-lupin-gaumont-netflix-paris
La série Lupin, financée par Netflix et réalisée par le studio français Gaumont, a fait de l’acteur Omar Sy une vedette« glocale ». © Jonas Unger/Vogue
dix-pour-cent-call-my-agent-international-emmy-award
L’équipe de Dix pour cent reçoit l’International Emmy Award de la meilleure série étrangère de l’année dans la catégorie comédie, à Manhattan, le 22 novembre 2021.
fanny-herrero-dix-pour-cent-call-my-agent-drole-standing-up-netflix
La créatrice de Dix pour cent Fanny Herrero (au centre) et les acteurs de Drôle, sa nouvelle série pour Netflix. © Mika Cotellon
camille-cottin-dix-pour-cent-call-my-agent-house-of-gucci
L’actrice française Camille Cottin, propulsée par la série Dix pour cent, a tourné récemment dans le film House of Gucci. © MGM

La formule est gagnante-gagnante. Associant culture locale et résonance mondiale, ces programmes fournissent aux plateformes américaines, qui ont souvent déjà fait le plein d’abonnés sur leur territoire, un nouveau réservoir de spectateurs. Avec 222 millions d’abonnés dans le monde mais seulement huit millions en France, Netflix est loin d’y avoir atteint ses limites. Pour les créateurs français confrontés à un rétrécissement des financements par les chaînes nationales, ce nouveau guichet est une belle opportunité. Après quelques hésitations, notamment sur le droit d’auteur et sur le contrôle exercé par les partenaires américains sur la version finale, les plus malins de la profession ont compris les termes de l’alternative : produire en partenariat avec Netflix ou Amazon et, en cas de succès, la possibilité d’être vu dans le monde entier, ou devoir se contenter de spectateurs en salle de moins en moins nombreux.

Omar Sy et Camille Cottin, vedettes glocales

Marseille, saga sulfureuse du grand port méditerranéen avec Gérard Depardieu et premier programme français produit par Netflix, n’a pas été le succès souhaité, malgré un triomphe au Brésil. Lupin en revanche, adaptation financée par la plateforme américaine mais réalisée par le studio français Gaumont, a fait un carton plein. En 28 jours, plus de 70 millions de téléspectateurs se sont régalés avec les nouvelles aventures de ce gentleman-cambrioleur, héros très français, tournées à Paris et en Normandie. Netflix l’a bien compris : en octobre 2021, après qu’il ait reçu la Rose d’or de la performance de l’année pour son rôle dans Lupin, la plateforme a signé un méga contrat pluriannuel avec l’acteur Omar Sy, bombardé producteur exécutif. Mêmes retombées favorables pour Camille Cottin, héroïne de Dix pour cent : son talent éclate dans Stillwater et House of Gucci, deux productions 100 % américaines. Embauchée par Netflix, la créatrice Fanny Herrero vient de terminer Drôle, une série sur les coulisses du stand-up parisien disponible sur la plateforme depuis le mois de mars.

Ce mariage de raison n’exclut pas des tensions entre les écosystèmes cinématographiques, fondés sur deux conceptions différentes: cinéma d’auteur pour la France, qui a tendance à se croire dépositaire exclusif du septième art ; cinéma de divertissement pour l’Amérique, un peu perdue ces temps-ci dans la surenchère des franchises de super-héros de type Marvel et DC Comics.

En échange de la libre circulation de leurs séries en Europe, Netflix, Disney+, Amazon Prime Video et consorts ont accepté de financer la production de films et séries en français à hauteur de 20 à 25 % de leur chiffre d’affaires réalisé en France. Et Netflix vient d’annoncer un budget de 40 millions d’euros alloué au financement de films destinés aux cinémas français. Restait à trouver un accord sur la « chronologie des médias », ce système de fenêtres qui s’ouvrent l’une après l’autre pour garantir à chaque diffuseur une période d’exclusivité. Aux Etats-Unis, la diffusion d’un film sur les plateformes est permise 45 jours après sa sortie en salles. Une règle contractuelle qui s’est généralisée partout, sauf en France : Netflix doit patienter quinze mois et Disney ou Amazon, dix-sept ! Cinéphiles et amateurs de séries détestent ces contraintes et espèrent toujours le bon accord capable de faire le bonheur des amoureux des salles obscures comme celui des amateurs de divertissement chez soi.

 

Article publié dans le numéro d’avril 2022 de France-Amérique. S’abonner au magazine.

couv-cover-france-amerique-magazine-juillet-july-2022-pop-up

The best of French culture

Published in a bilingual format, France-Amérique Magazine is intended for anyone interested in French culture and Franco-American friendship.

Already a subscriber?